We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
7
15
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
15
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town room number low season right next door stay there again simple hotel union island stove harbour removal spoon dive egg slice email furnishings cable
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Came back to Union after 2 years...I wanted to sleep somewhere that was mid budget as opposed to my last low budget trip to Union Island..Came in late afternoon on a Thursday via SS Minnow from Carriacou no that was Giligans Island no SS Lady JJ(just joking Troy that's sea seaworthy vessel and I respect you a lot)...Came in and thes epeople were not in a hurry for their money..They just showed me to my room and said we will take care of that in the morning.I was liking this place already...Rooms very nice and clean AC Freezing cold..great ocean view room..breakfast in the morning.The cook was so nice..I forgot her name but she had an infectious smile and was always pleasant...I will definitely be back to stay at this place.Also there is a lady that sells bar-b-que ..in the afternoons.You can't miss her place she is on the left as you are walking off of hotel compound..Her food is great,but she does not smile much but..again the food is great...Anyway Big Up to all staff get room number 15 ready for me again..."Triniman coming back....."

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank ShakaWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The King’s Landing is one of the more economic accommodation options on a generally rather overpriced island. We got the essentials, but no more than that.

This simple hotel has a lot more potential than the current charm we encountered. OK, we were there in low season and had to advise breakfast time the day before – no problem. No other meals were served – no problem either. The kitchenette was seriously under-equipped – we could not even have fried an egg. But I am confident, if we had asked for specific appliances, the hotel staff would have helped out.

The hotel is on the waterfront, but there is no beach. Because the hotel is on the leeward side of the bay, where seaweed and other floating matters are raked back into the sea, there was a rotten egg smell that even prevented us from enjoying the garden or our balcony with a very pretty view. That was a pity and beyond the control of hotel management. But removal of the debris from the water/beach could fix/mitigate the issue.

There is pool, but a single deck chair (and no umbrella) on the pool deck does not do justice to some 17 rooms or so – nor was it inviting to us, although it had been a criterion in favour of this hotel during our selection.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, attending swiftly to repair requests as well as individual wishes. This was really the strength of the hotel. The place itself could do with some TLC: the TV box was not getting any channels for the first 2 days, the balcony door could not be locked, and there were rusty nails in the lawn by the pool. So solid flip-flops are a must on the way to a dip.

The King’s Landings charges a surcharge for card payments. There was a reasonably-priced laundry service. Planning communication with reception staff was efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lucian_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This is a family owned hotel. Historic building. Clean. Absolutely wonderful staff. Accommodating. Very reasonably priced. Centrally located. Would stay there again. Adequate parking. Homey atmosphere. Laundry in the facility with shared refrigerator in addition to fridge in room. Has wifi and cable as well. Actually the best price for lodging in the area.

Room Tip: Very fun place. Staff is very good natured!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan97501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The hotel is located dirrctly at the harbour of Clifton. A lot of beach bars amd restaurants are within 5 minutes walking.
The staff is friendly and keeps the hotel clean. However most of the equipment is outdated and worn.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Located in Clifton, Union Island, and at walking distance from UNI airport, the Kings Landing is modest seaside guesthouse offering 15 rooms and a pool. Staffs are friendly and helpful, early check-in and a late check-out aren’t a problem.

The Kings Landing is an establishment maintained in Caribbean style and like all in St Vincent, overpriced for the quality offered. We came shortly before New Years Eve and the hotel had very few guests, at US$ 105 per night including breakfast the hotel is pricing itself out of the market.

Our room had AC, desk & chair, small flat screen cable TV, luggage rack, wardrobe, a surprisingly good double bed & extra single bed and a balcony overviewing the harbour. In the room a dilapidated kitchenette with sink, butane stove and fridge. Pottery and kitchen utensils on request. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Breakfast is unimpressive but adequate, eggs made to order, toast, butter & marmalade, fruit-juice, tea or coffee.

Notwithstanding the constant sea-breeze, be prepared for nasty mosquitos all over Clifton. Take an insect repellant when you go out for dinner. We were happy to have our own mosquito-net and we slept undisturbed.

The Kings Landing is a modest accommodation where we had an OK stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews