We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Fun 2,5km hike and awesome 6000 years old historical sight

Lovely walk through the summer woods. Filled with blueberries and cowberries along the way. There... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2022
S8780GZannar
via mobile
Fascinating stone-age rock paintings, take the boat trip!

We were with a group in the Anttolanhovi Resort and decided to finalize the stay with a trip by... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2019
Eero I
,
Helsinki, Finland
Read all 26 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park blueberries boat kilometers trail highway june lake mikkeli
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2019

We were with a group in the Anttolanhovi Resort and decided to finalize the stay with a trip by boat to the see rock paintings. The boat can be booked from the reception, "Saimaan saaristo- ja veneilypalvelut Oy" offers a boat with max 12 passengers. They do regular trips during the season but can be hired by a group whenever wanted.

The boat trip to the site takes some 1 1/4 hours. The route is fantastic with several very narrow passages alternating with open lake, there are rocky islands and numerous summer cottages mostly well hidden from sight. The captain has a remote-control gadget which allows him to converse with passengers and show them the interesting points while also steering the craft. Clever!

The rock painting is on a high rock face, the sloping side has protected the pictures from weather. There are about twenty elks, same amount of human figures ,several boats and hand prints. One of these is very clear even in direct sunlight, which tends to make the red paintings harder to discern. One woman figure holds clearly a bow.
Most figures are 8-10 meters over the present lake level, the Saimaa water level was that much higher when the paintings were made 4000 - 5000 years ago.

The side of the rock face, seen from the lake, resembles a man's face in profile, looking right. This may have prompted the stone age painters to choose this site as their cult center.

The boat trip takes 3-4 hours and is highly recommended, the hiking trail is fine as well but you have to look at the figures from below and do not see the impressive form of the rock face as it looks from the lake. The boat captain (Harri Kerkelä) has a binder with information about the site and is an excellent guide to the attraction!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Eero I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

You can combine 2.5 km hike and 5000 years old rock paintings for the same visit. First you need to get to the marked trail, which starts about 20 km from Ristiina. The path is not suitable for disabled or elderly people. It takes almost two hours for return hike. Alternative would be by boat as the location is by lake Saimaa. Nevertheless it is rewarding to see the wall painted with multiple animals, hunters and boats still in good shape after all these years. You may dip into the water for refreshing swim, but remember to take your water bottle with you as the hike makes you thirsty. Ristiina has the closest groceries and supplies you may need.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Jari7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I saw the place on a map I received at a hotel in Mikkeli and we went there by car. There is a parking place from where to start the walk (Note: the path is to the left of the car park, not the wide path going uphill - it will end with a notice telling you that it does not take you to the rick paintings). The path is quite narrow and, while there aren't other paths to anywhere, it may become difficult to find it if covered in snow as someone else mentioned. We were there in May, so it was straightforward to follow. The walk takes about 30-40 minutes, the path goes by a beautiful lake and shores, so we weren't very fast.

The rock painting is by the lake - where a big rock stands from the water. According to the explanation, the water level was much higher (and hence the paintings are high up) and the rock looked like a profile of a human face. We wished if we could have a boat to see it from the lake.

Still, the paintings are clearly visible, and considering that most of rock paintings are inside caves, this is extraordinary. I particularly liked the hand print - while other paintings are humans (shamans), animal head, boats etc in smaller scales, the hand print was life size and made me wonder what the ancient painter wanted to communicate by stamping his hand against the rock face.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank weekdaysweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2017

A must-see, if you're interested in Neolithic rock paintings. Hiking route begins at the parking place by the road 4323, followed by a 2.5 km hike through lakeside vistas, forest and granite.

The place is well worth the visit. Sloping face of the cliff is full of paintings from the Stone Age. Red ochre has been preserved because the curving stone gives shelter and silicon dioxide has condensed over the paintings depicting deer, moose, shaman, hand(!) and a man on a boat, for example. From the water the cliff looks like a giant human face. I guess this is the reason why this place was held in such a high esteem.

Easy access from Mikkeli with a car.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank antilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We tried to visit the Astuvansalmi rock paintings last winter. It was impossible to follow the trail due to snow. In June we tried again and succeeded. It was absolutely worth of trying again. The one-way nature trail to the Astuvansalmi rock paintings was 2.3 kilometers long (40 minutes) according to GPS. Both the trail and the paintings were very interesting.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank HarriV305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews