We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
29
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We spent a wonderful week in Hapero cottage , everything you imagine Finland to be and more . A beautifull cottage , well equipped , on a picture perfect lake surrounded by forest . An easy 2.5 hour drive from Helsinki airport , so much so that we also had a day trip to the capital during our stay . A more relaxing holiday you couldn't imagine .

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheoTheWyvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Do you want to escape from your stressfull daily-routine? Do you need some peace, calm and relax? Do you like nature, but you want anyway all the comforts you normally have? Then contact the Valkonen Family and book one of their amazing cottages!!! I've just spent one of the most awesome week of my life at the Villa Kunkku with some friends.
The cottage is modern and it has really everything: a big terrace with grill; tv, radio, huge sofa, a big kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, pots, etc.; towels, bed sheets, even the ecological soap/shampoo/showergel to use in order to not pollute the nature around. Practically the only things you need to bring are your own toothbrush and clothes! :D
Villa Kunkku has a beautiful view on the lake Kajtajärvi. There is a private access to the beach/lake where you can find also a private boat. For those who want to have a trip on the famous Saimaa Lake, it's close so there are no problems in getting there; I have been there and it's beautiful, but for staying I prefer the smaller lake Kajtajärvi because it gets warm faster and it's a way calmer (almost no people or boats, NO NOISE). Swimming in there has become one of my favourite things ever done, I really recommend that both after the sauna and non! To not speak about the stunning sunsets and the breeze you can enjoy on the terrace!
Talking about Sauna: inside the cottage there is a normal one which is big and modern and has everything you need, plus you can regulate the temperature and there is a clock inside telling you how long have you been in there. It's really beautiful and it feels good; after that you don't have to get outside to the lake if you don't want to, because there are showers right out of it where you can get refreshed. The traditional combo is sauna-lake though, and having tried it I definitely recommend it. But what's really awesome -and only the Villa Kunkku has- is the smoke-sauna outside! This type of sauna is more traditional, so don't expect a modern, tidy and exceptionally clean thing like the one inside, but it's an experience I strongly recommend even if it's an extra payment. It's totally worth it!
About how to go in the sauna: no, you don't have to go naked if you don't want to. That is the traditional way though! But it's more than understandable that you may not want to completely dress off, and for finnish people it's important that foreigners feel comfortable in their saunas no matter if in bikini or not. My recommentadion is to do it anyway, because 1)you might be either alone or with people you know/are close with, 2)that area is REALLY quite, so there is no neighbourhood who may see you going to the lake and back, 3)Lake Katajärvi is quite as well and indeed I've seen nobody in the whole week, 4)you get to experience the traditional way.
After the first moment of embarrassment, everything gets fine!

Outside, close to the smoke-sauna, there's also a hut-grill where you can grill food in the traditional way, this is also an extra which we found worth it to pay and the results prooved us that we were right. Both in case you want to try the smoke-sauna and the hut-grill you need to contact the owners, because preparations take long time and an expert handling. In the grill case we helped the owners Esko and Leena and their daughter Veera to prepare a grilled salmon and got to learn about the recipe and techniques, and then we prepared our italian Tiramisù and taught them how to make it. In the end we had a delicious, enjoyable and funny dinner altogether with the whole family!

The owners are very easy-going and nice people who really take care about the customers, and we have been no exception. Getting along and talking with them is very easy and natural as they are very kind, spontaneous, helpful and eager to get to know more about other cultures. Besides always being there (and being there quickly) when you call them, they gave us tipps about what to visit and how to get there, informations about Finland rules, history and culture, and told us funny stories about Finland.
I knew them already because last year, on a summer solo-trip to Finland, I've stayed at their B&B Tuukkalan Tila and so I discovered about the cottages. As my first experience was very good, I suggested the place to my friends so we decided to come here, just in a more fancy and relaxed way.
You are right in contacting them if you want to be in the nature and meet good, funny and kind local people who really work a lot to make your stay as much enjoyable as possible, and in our case they did it perfectly.

Thank you, ValkonenS, and hopefully see you soon! :)

Room tip: All of them are great!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luci_Onvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We spent in Kilpikonna about 2 weeks in the second half of august. The villa is luxurious, modern and equipped with all the accesories that you need to be comfortable. Rooms are nice and clean. Kilpikonna is located in very nice quiet place in the forest and in front of beautiful lake.The owners are very friendly and helpful. All my family enjoyed the stay and we will certainly come back . I recommend this place to any visitor who expects high quality of housing and friendly service. Only 5 minutes drive to super market in Ristiina. Mikkeli is about 20 minutes drive if you like to go to restaurant or market place. Exceptional place for family holiday - forest walks, berries and mushrooms and fishing. I highly recommend this place to any visitor who expects high quality of housing and friendly service.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2015

This is a place to go, if you are looking for a great experience in a luxurious villa on a quiet lake in Finland. The place is located on a beautyful lake. The villas are new and very nicely equipped with all you may need to spend a comfortable and relaxing stay. The owners Valkonen family, are very friendly and took great care of us. All my family enjoyed the stay and we will certainly come back very soon. I recommend this place to any visitor who expects high quality of housing and friendly service. Ivo.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iossiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Amazing days in the Hapero Villa! Every single detail of the house and the are is amazing and easy guided by the owner a great person. The place is fully equiped and everything works perfectly, all the accesories needed in a house are available, the lake is a peaceful and beautiful you can swim all day in summer.
Totally recommend this villas and visit Finland with no doubt!!!

Room tip: Todas las habitaciones están acondicionadas, la casa esta perfectamente adaptada para entrar a disfrutar desde el primer momento.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 468alejandrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews
<