We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food ! What a good address”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaumont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Prieure Saint Gery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

I am traveling about 60% of my time. All around the world. Between work dinners, receptions or room service working from my hotel room, I love the rare few times that I can escape and take a nice evening for myself.

Last month when in Brussels I decided to rent a car and just spend a night at the Prieure to enjoy the food of Chef Gardinal and the wines selected by his young passionated Portuguese Sommelier.

It is the third time that I do that in the last couple of years. And it is always a pleasure. First you need a GPS. It is a bit difficult to find. Also the mobile phone network is not the best there but is is maybe better like this !

Each time I take the full menu with the pairing wine. The food is superb. The restaurant charming and nicely decorated. The staff is young and professional. The chef is clearly passionated. About the food of course, the quality of the products, the presentation and you see that there is a lot of work done. The result is just fabulous and excellent value for money (bedroom/dinner package ). The bedroom are nice (the bathroom need a bit of renovation but I believe it is planned) and the breakfast a pleasure

I can't wait an opportunity to share my next experience with friends or colleagues !

Really you should go. Don't drive back after all this interesting wine. Just stay overnight !

Gault and Millau is right (18/20). And Michelin should think about an additional star !

Congratulations !

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank Brooklyntotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2014

This review is only about the restaurant.

For the price we paid, well over 100€ per person, I would have expected that the service at this restaurant would match the price. However, the service was extremely slow, to the point that we thought our order had been forgotten. We had one of the set-menus and instead of getting the food we ordered we had to go through 4 hors d'oeuvres offered by the house, which is very welcome in any restaurant, however, this went on for about an hour until the first service of the menu arrived. And from that point onwards there was no rythme in the serving of the menu, one dish would arrive late, followed immediately by the other, then waiting again for 45 minutes for the main course, by which time we could not eat any more, followed by dessert in the space of 5 minutes.

The worse of all was the drinks service. We had to ask to have our glasses refilled with water and there was no refill of wine whatsoever, despite the package we got for matching wines with the set menu. In other restaurants you get your wine glasses refilled throughout the meal. When the water run out nobody would offer to bring another bottle.

The menu, although elaborated, was admittedly light so despite finishing our meal at midnight we were able to get a good night's sleep. The chef has a nice touch, but what is that worth if everything else doesn't work right?

The serving staff seemed to be overworked and having cought a glimpse of the other areas of the restaurant it is my understanding that more serving staff is urgently needed, if the owner wishes to keep a good standard and a good reputation.

The decor is minimalist and pleasant and the setting in this old priory gives a cosy atmosphere.

It was our first time in this restaurant but no effort was made to make us feel that extra touch. On the other hand we saw the chef and the serving staff being overly nice to other clients, who were probably regulars, with one member of staff frequently stopping to serve other tables includng our own in order to have long chats with the favourite clients. I can tell you that this does not show well in a restaurant, because all clients, old and new want to feel special, especially if they have driven for many kilometers to get to this restaurant which is situated in a small village away from the major cities.

For the reasons mentioned above I am not returning to this place and I will unfortunately not recommend it either. I also feel that it was a rip-off for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank AmarGeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed one night and had an all-inclusive dinner-bed-breakfast option.
The dinner experience was superb. Dinner ran to four very pleasant hours, from multiple amuse bouches through excellent fish and meat, an outstanding cheese board and desserts. Our menu package included wine and the wines offered were interesting, with well-chosen offerings from unusual locations around France. (Although the menu stipulated a specific number of glasses of wine, in fact our glasses were generously refilled throughout the meal.) Service was super-attentive, in a very comfortable and attractive room.
Breakfast likewise was excellent, lovely breads and meats and unusual fruit juices.
I left an ipad in our room when checking out. Very generously, the hotel called me to let me know, offered to courier it to me in the UK where I live, and refused to let me reimburse them for the postage. They even donated one of the hotel's towels to wrap the ipad to protect it during transit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MamaHelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Wonderfully converted abeybuilding into restaurant with 6 rooms. Top class restaurant with a chef that absolutely sticks out. Nice surroundings, wonderful rooms. We had a great time there, the only thing you need to take into account is booking the room(s) well in advance, especially if you want to stay over for a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a one-night stay in the 'Hostellerie' combined with a menu 'promenade gourmande' at the restaurant.
We had a very nice stay. The rooms are very comfortable and big and we had a good night sleep, the area is very calm/quiet at night and that's a big plus. The centre of the town is at a Km or 2 so not to far and has some nice pubs/café's.
The only reason I'm not giving the full 5 star-rating is because of a rather unpleasant visit we had in our room. Apparantly the person that stayed in our room before us was still in the restaurant enjoying lunch and he decided to show the room he stayed in to his family/friends that he was having lunch with. I don't have a problem with that if asked!! But he entered our room unasked just while we were having a bath. Apparantly someone from the staff had giving him permission to do so.... We didn't make a big fuss about it, my wife and I even had a good laugh about it afterwards. But still, the staff needs to be aware of the occupancy of the room and respect the guest's privacy!!
For the rest perfect but be fast cause only 6 rooms!
Breakfast was very good and well served.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumont
16.5 km away
Relais de la Haute Sambre
33.2 km away
Dream
Dream
#2 of 8 in Mons
618 reviews
30.5 km away
Le Val-Fayt
Le Val-Fayt
#1 of 1 in Fayt lez Manage
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Congres Hotel Mons Van der Valk
31.8 km away
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Louviere
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prieure Saint Gery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure Saint Gery

Address: Rue Lambot 9, Beaumont 6500, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Beaumont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumont
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing