We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
80
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting the kitchen venison working farm wild boar irish breakfast day trip fresh fruit host hostess family kitchen welcoming atmosphere deer grazing black and white pudding irish hospitality common room anyone wanting eggs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We only had the one night but we would have loved to have stayed longer.
Miriam and Pat were fantastic hosts this is all you could ever want in accommodation and with first class service. Our room was in the courtyard and very spacious, very clean, and very quiet, we cooked our own meal in the kitchen that has everything you could need.
The breakfast was amazing I have never had venison or wild boar sausages or black and white pudding but it was all wonderful I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The cottage kitchen and dining areas are shared but we didn't see anyone else in there, it felt like we had the place to ourselves.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maz1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Wonderful country home accommodation, located just outside Mitchelstown co.cork. Hosts Pat and Miriam couldn't have been more hospitable. Spacious and quiet rooms, delicious breakfast with wild boar sausages and great experience in wine tasting from their own vineyard in Hungary. 2003 cabernet franc as one of my favourites. Definitely worth calling by!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay. Amazing food they raise wild boar and venison and serve their own produce for breakfast you couldn't get fresher or more tasty food. The owners are warm and welcoming hosts n make you feel relaxed and at ease.. We will be back for another visit

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Siobhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I spent 6 nights during a business trip in this peaceful location and I loved every minute of it.
Breakfast was fantastic - both food and conversation. I would return there with my entire family when I’ll have the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Ballinwillin House is situated on an estate at the end of a quiet suburban road, with secure access. We stayed in the Courtyard building adjacent the main house which has a number of nicely decorated rooms, together with a residents lounge and kitchen. It would definitely also suit small groups and those who want to self-cater for their evening meals. The superb breakfasts are served in the main house in their large eat-in country kitchen which has a wonderful, welcoming atmosphere. Ballinwillin House is a great base for exploring surrounding towns and countryside with Cashel, Tipperary and Lismore easily accessible, all roughly 30 minutes drive, Cork around 45 minutes drive and Kilkenny slightly further away. We had a memorable stay which was further enhanced by our charming hosts and their knowledge of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews