We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and intimate restaurant”
Review of La Cueva del Lobo

La Cueva del Lobo
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in El Molar
Price range: US$30 - US$42
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Passing through El Molar and chanced upon this restaurant. One of many set into the hillside from the outside it resembles a Mexican Cantina. But there the similarity ends. Inside is a candle-lit intimate restaurant which is full of character.

We sat upstairs on the mezzanine floor. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and even though their command of English wasn't great (but better than our Spanish) we managed just fine.

We went for the taster menu at 35€ - meat , meat and more meat. It was brilliant. Olives and bread to start followed by a plate full of Ibericos, followed by Entradas Calientes (sausages of every type) followed by a healthy salad followed by lamb chops (other options available!). Washed down by a Jarra of local wine and finished off with coffee.

Had a visit from the Chef at the end to round off a lovely evening. Thank you to everyone who works there - we had a great time!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 682alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

If you like meat it is place for you.
Place itself is beautiful, especially wine basement at the back of the Restaurant. Natural candle light makes it more attractive and elegant.

Food is delicious but you must like meat, otherwise it is pointless to go there.

One big con - waiter who served us.. he didn't like his job and wasn't hiding it.

Beside that waiter and the fact it's pretty expensive it is really worth visit.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank buu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Beautifully decorated, excellent house wine, great quality food, very good service. Run by same person as Posada de Lola, got a complimentary bottle of wine after an interesting visit to de winery, where we saw the bottling process. Will be back!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank ceciQ-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We've been having lunch in May,2014. The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived around 3 on a Sunday. The barista was a bit rude at the beginning, but he was improving, the owner came in for asking how was everything. Food was fine. Ambient relaxing and calm. Music was fantastic in the terrace. Really nice experience.

Thank Fernandogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva del Lobo also viewed

El Molar, Community of Madrid
El Molar, Community of Madrid
 
El Molar, Community of Madrid
El Molar, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Cueva del Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.