We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$564
US$541
View deal
Hotels.comUS$541
Orbitz.comUS$541
TravelocityUS$541
eDreamsUS$564
CheapTicketsUS$541
TripadvisorUS$541
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,125)
Filter reviews
4,125 results
Traveller rating
2,113
1,303
405
192
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,113
1,303
405
192
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports piccolo mondo rainbow garden ocean side a la carte beachfront room beach front st james's club all inclusive package per person shirley heights royal suite tennis courts nightly entertainment great resort burger catamaran trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 4,125 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Spent a week with my family here in August. When we arrived I was expecting a slightly larger resort having visited Dominican Rep and Mexico recently and it was much smaller than expected. The first day was spent getting used to the slow service! Again compared to Dom Rep and Mexico, however after a few days we were on island time and had relaxed! It's actually nice that you don't have the staff pestering or buttering you up for tips! Even when you do tip, they're still chilled and friendly!
A few points - there are jellyfish and seaweed in the sea. They really do a good job of cleaning the beach and it's still swimmable - the jellyfish are small and can be avoided.
Rooms are spacious and cleaned every day, from when I could tell all rooms have an ocean view.
We visited Stingray City - wonderful and worth it. Shirley Heights - perfect view and fab food and music if a bit pricey (stop at the lookout on the way). The Calypso boat from the bay is a great half a day excursion and the staff are lovely.
Not all the restaurants are open in August but the food was really good. Always something at the buffet, the beach grill was superb and the al a carte meals really enjoyable. All in all, not the flashiest hotel but friendly and has everything you need for a good time.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank LaurenG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019

We won part of this trip at a charity function-and were unsure what to expect, but we used free miles and booked. We were given a deluxe suite overlooking the bay. Beautiful! The rooms were spacious, air conditioned, and cleaned daily. The food I. The restaurants was surprisingly good and the house wine was good, the pools are beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. The cons: the suites are quite an uphill trek, not for the faint of heart. However, quiet and comfortable. The specialty restaurants with menus are good, you pay extra. We had arranged a special sunset dinner on the beach at sunset-it wasequisite and the chef did an incredible job with the menu. I understand they are closing for renovations for September, the only updates I could really see that were needed was furniture. Buildings were immaculately maintained and painted...the front desk is definitely on island time-suggest you book tours, etc through trip advisor. Plan on eating breakfast and a light lunch. Transportation is arranged separately from resort from airport.all in all, a great trip-but don’t be fooled by “all inclusive”

Room tip: Ask for one away from pools
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Drkkmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

We last came here 3 years ago and spent a really great family week away.

We decided to return this year with fond memories but we have been disappointed this time.

Whilst it still has all the same facilities, which were obviously well thought out when the hotel was designed and they work well, it definitely has not been updated for a while and the whole site needs some investment to bring it back up to a 4* standard. (For reference it’s not 5*). They seem to be trying as there is always building work going on (the room next to us had the sinks smashed and replaced for the past week and the other side of us has the outside staircase rebuilt slowly and loudly so it’s really not been a quiet room to stay in!). Maybe by the winter season it’ll be well on its way to looking better, just not in time for us.

Our room is fine but there are little details like the mesh door and sliding patio door need reseating, the bath has stress fractures in, the toilet randomly refills throughout the night and the bathroom floor need regrouting. It’s basically just tired!

We paid for in room Wi-Fi for 10 days and for 3 of those days there was no Wi-Fi available. No explanation just a ‘we’ll look to get it sorted for you!’ It seems to be mainly in the accommodation block we were in (sea front room) but regularly there is no free Wi-Fi to log onto in the communal areas either. They did refund the lost days at reception without hassle so that was good.

The staff are 50/50. Some are fun, smile and do a great job. However the others hate their jobs and just can’t be bothered. The good ones definitely carry the others. Sadly it’s pot luck who you get. I think that a lot of it may come down to the fact they are understaffed. All the ladies at piccolo mondo are great as is Declia in 11 eleven and the spa staff. As I say, the good ones are great. Check in takes an age too, that really needs streamlining somehow.

Then there is the seaweed issue. Last year it shut the hotel. To be fair this is mainly outside the hotels hands and they do all they can to mitigate it but the constant tractors driving up and down clearing it all day whilst you’re on a sun lounger 2 foot away are not what you’d expect from a relatively expensive resort. The hotel have installed a barrier across the bay to stop the seaweed coming in but since we’ve been here it’s twice been in pieces (and still was when we left) due to windy nights. We did watch them try to fix a bit of it but that lasted 4 days before the next evening storm. Good idea but at the moment ineffective.

We preferred the sea facing beach as it is nearly always empty so there is never a rush for the sun loungers and the breeze keeps you cool under the warm Caribbean sun. The lagoon beach is busier but without the breeze is definitely much hotter.

Last whinge was the car rental place within the hotel run by lion cars. The customer service is non existent, it’s painful.

Really great is Alfred in his little beach buggy who comes along the beach once an hour to top up your drinks. As I said treat the staff well and with respect and half will show you how lovely it can be.

There is alway iced water available in the main areas and ice machines near the rooms (our nearest one didn’t work though). Water from the tap is safe to drink and they initially pop a bottle of water in the room fridge but ask you to refill it from the tap if you want more of buy new ones from the shop. If you bring a water bottle you can easily fill it anywhere.

Water sports on the lagoon side are good and you can generally get out immediately on the equipment.

We didn’t do too must outside the hotel this time as we did a lot before, but we did go to stingray city and hold, feed and swim with the ray. That was fantastic and I’d heartily recommend it to everyone!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank alexh655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

We arrived to this resort on August 23rd, on a 7 day vacation with my wife, my three kids (my youngest is 11 months old), and my wife's parents. Let me start by defining a baseline: a) we have been to real 5 star hotels in the Caribbean's; b) Sun Wing reps sold us this expensive vacation resort as a Luxury resort.

Beaches: this resort has two beaches - one facing the Atlantic Ocean which was full or rocks and had big jelly fishes, there fore a no no if you have little ones; the other one facing the opposite side in a bay, very calm but still had jelly fish. We had to spend $80 USD a day for the 5 of us to go to a nice - white send, turquoise water- beach.

Food: a) the buffet was terrible, lack of choices. Maybe breakfast gets 3 out of 5, but lunch and dinner way below expectations; b) a la carte was okay. The rainbow restaurant had some decent food, as well as the 11 to 11. As for the "special restaurant" Piccolo Mondo, it turns out that even thou we were all inclusive, this restaurant wasn't. There is a $40USD per person (including children). I am Italian and there is no way I will pay extra to pay Italian food in the Caribbean which I had already experience terrible Italian cuisine in their other venues.
Service: staff is great. I think it the only positive about this place. Vincent and Osrick were great at the front. Always willing to help you, to drive you around. Mansel, Cleopatra, and all the other waiters and waitresses were amazing.

Rooms: Rooms are below average. My wife's parents had to call front desk three time as soon as we arrived because AC wasn't working. Finally at the third try they replaced the AC.

Room tip: Ocean Front
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corradobelfiore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador05, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with nothing less than exceptional vacation experiences. So we were genuinely disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.

We are very sorry you were dissatisfied with our all-inclusive meal plan, but we welcome this opportunity to clarify a few of our resort policies. At St. James’s Club, dining at our upscale Piccolo Mondo restaurant is a surcharge of $40 per person. This fee is utilized to maintain Piccolo’s exquisite menu, which includes imported provisions and wines, as well as sumptuous desserts and specialty items.


We appreciate you voicing your concerns, and we will address our team to ensure our high standards are continuously executed. On behalf of our team, thank you again for your time and consideration. We certainly welcome your return to St. James’s Club, Antigua in the future.


Warm regards,

St. James’s Club, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

We’ve just returned from 10 days here and we had a lovely time. We were ‘upgraded’ to a two bedroom villa, which although a little dated was spacious and had wonderful views of Mamora Bay. Most of the staff were fantastic especially Alfred, Orian in 11 Eleven and Vincent. Some of the staff were a bit grumpy but these were few and far between. Coffee and cake from the coffee shop was great and we sometimes did this instead of the buffet breakfast which was varied, but the hot items were usually luke warm at best. A couple of the restaurants opened on a rota basis as this is a quiet time of year and as we’re not big buffet fans we stuck to the 11 Eleven for a la carte. There is a problem with seaweed on Coco Beach but the resort work hard to manage it and there were quite a few jelly fish in Mamora Bay. We used the beach all of the time and never had a problem getting a sun-bed. I’d definitely go back but would say if you want beautiful white sand beaches and crystal clear sea then there are possibly better places on the Caribbean side of the island.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews