We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality & meal”

Stony River Country Diner
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Okato
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stony River Boutique Hotel provides 7 rooms (1 Twin room, 2 double rooms, 2 triple rooms and 1 wheel chair access room) all en suite with Flat screen TV, FREE Internet, Coffee and Tea bar. You will find Taranaki's finest hospitality in a relaxed and warm ambiance. Enjoy your afternoon break in our Mountain View Lounge perfect in Winter time at the fire place and stay for dinner in our excellent Award winning restaurant.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Unique dining , great food and hospitality with imported beers. A real step up for this old hotel and a promising future in good hands

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Taranaki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

We enjoyed our meal very much. My husband's fish and chips was a very generous portion, and the laumb rump was perfectly cooked with beautiful flavours. Our desserts were scrumptious - not one but 2 pieces of brownie! And the strudel was devine. Would highly recommend. Food was great, and the staff friendly.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We ate here over 4 nights while staying at the hotel, so we sampled much of the menu.All meals were beautifully prepared and presented, very hearty (no tiny portions here) and served in a nice, freindly atmoshpere. Highlights were the pork belly, the chicken, and all the desserts! They are also well-known for their speciality dish - snitzel in a range of styles, and it was delicious and tender. The restaurant was popular with locals too, and was quite busy. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank vanfamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

The staff, especially Renata, are fantastic, so welcoming and friendly. We were here for a work function so had a set meal but it was delicious

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Plant_Girl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Went for an Anniversary dinner last night with friends. The atmosphere was fabulous, the restaurant full (always a good sign) and the food was just amazingly good. The staff were lovely, attentive and friendly. Loved the fact that they served non-alcoholic mulled wine, plus our favourite non alcoholic wine. Sadly we were too full to partake of the fabulous dessert selection due to our fabulous entrees and mains but next time....
Thank you to all staff for making our anniversary a memorable one!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TracyHotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stony River Country Diner also viewed

Okato, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Stony River Country Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing