We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday lunch by far”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set on the edge of Bentfield Green in the village of Stansted Mountfitchet we are a family owned traditional country pub. Our kitchen offers seasonal, wholesome cooking using the abundance of excellent local produce available to us. As well as the best pub classics and home made bar snacks. We pride ourselves on our well kept selection of Ales as supported by CAMRA, cold draft, premium spirits and wine list. Family friendly, dogs and children are welcome, especially in the summer when our beer garden really comes in to it's own. Food Served Tuesday 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Wednesday 12.00Pm - 2.00Pm 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Thursday 12.00Pm - 2.00Pm 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Friday 12.00Pm - 2.00Pm 5.30Pm - 9.00Pm Saturday 12.00Pm - 2.00Pm 5.30Pm - 9.00Pm Sunday 12.30Pm - 5.00Pm Bank Holidays 12.30Pm - 4.00Pm
Reviewed 6 September 2015

As we are staying in the Stansted Airport Hotel prior to going on holiday we wanted to find a pub where we could get a Sunday lunch. My husband found The Rose and Crown on the Internet and after reading the many good reviews, rang and booked a table. We arrived and were greeted warmly by the landlady who showed us to our table. We both decided on shoulder of pork and when the meal arrived we were not disappointed. The pork was tender. The roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were just right and I imagine they were homemade. None of your frozen stuff here. The selection of vegetables was superb. Cauliflower in a sauce, parsnips, red pepper, courgettes, squash, peas and onions. Not forgetting the stuffing. Someone in a previous review mentioned that the pork was fatty. My husband, being an ex butcher will tell you that all meat needs some fat, not just for the flavour but to help keep the meat moist and tender. In this instance it was perfect. Unfortunately because we were so full we had to share a pudding, again homemade and delicious. I am only sorry that I couldn't manage one of the knickerbocker glories. The only regret we have is that this pub is 75 miles away from our home so rules out frequent visits. We had decided that when we came back from our holiday we would call in for dinner before returning home. Again unfortunately the pub is not open on Mondays, probably for a well deserved rest after Sunday. We will not hesitate to return if we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BasingstokeSpikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy w, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all working very hard and when customers take the time to review us, it really is appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope you have a great holiday and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers Stacy,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Drove an hour to sample the delicacies of the rose and crown, and we were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming, and we were made to feel very comfortable. The food we experienced was not normal "pub grub" it was more 4/5 star restaurant quality food, in taste and presentation. Stacey, the owner, even went out of her way to buy our favourite champagne and gave us flowers for our anniversary.
Thank you to her and her team for giving us a wonderful day.
We highly recommend stopping for a bite to eat.
See you again.
Amber and Craig

Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy w, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

It was a pleasure and we are really happy you chose to celebrate your anniversary here. The pictures you posted are great, thank you. I hope you had a fantastic evening and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

The staff are really friendly and made us and our kids feel very welcome. The ale is kept very well and the food is delicious and served in generous portions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy w, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Great comments, thank you. Cheers Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Good selection of food, reasonable prices and good service received.

Pub very busy when we arrived, but nabbed last free table. The staff made us feel welcome and landlady managed expectations around waiting time. Something for everyone on menu and the food was really nice. Large portions, well cooked and presented.

Recommended and would certainly return again.

Thank hector0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy w, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Many thanks for your review of the R & C, glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to your next visit. Cheers Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

My boyfriend discovered this lovely pub recently and took me there for lunch. I only eat plant foods and suffer from gluten intolerance which makes eating out extremely difficult for me. Not only the staff is super friendly and nice the chef is willing to adjust the menu to your needs. The food is really really good and I highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy w, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Great comments, thank you. As everything here is homemade it is easier for the kitchen to accomodate any dietary requirements. Look forward to meeting you again. Cheers Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing