We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wanted for nothing.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Uppingham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stephen c
1 review
“Wanted for nothing.”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The accommodation was lacking in nothing, there was plenty to do nice walks excellent pubs to eat at. A very interesting area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
"Many thanks for a great review, so pleased that you found the cottage well equipped & we are really pleased that you enjoyed the area. Hopefully we succeeded in making Moss Cottage a homely place to stay."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davwend
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a beautiful town”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are very glad we opted to stay in Uppingham as it's convenient for everything we wanted for our weeks stay, food shopping, post office, great pubs and places to eat, easy walk into the high street and convenient parking across the street overnight with 2 hour parking there 10-6pm making it easy to comply with and there is free unlimited parking up the street a short walk away. Simon called in to say hallo and check all was well and quickly and efficiently dealt with a minor problem of a lock that wouldn't work.
The cottage is very spacious and would be great for two couples or families with three nice bedrooms, the single one being tiny. Free WIFI and TVs in lounge and bedroom was also very useful. Unfortunately the dryer wasn't working and as we use cottages on our long travels to get clothes washed and ironed this would have been very difficult if the weather had been unkind.
We felt very comfortable here and it was a lovely town to stay in. Would recommend Moss Cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thanks for such a great review, so pleased that you would recomend Moss Cottage for future guests!
It is also gratifying to know you found it spacious and well equipped, and a warm homely place to stay."
It was a pleasure have you as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliestar...
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great cottage - everything you need for a happy stay!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really good cottage - well equipped (including WiFi) ,comfortable and very clean and well kept. Booking was straightforward and owner responded promptly to all my emails & was easy to deal with (& charming when we met!). Handy parking with no hassle & amazing location - Uppingham market place & the fabulous Lake Isle Restaurant were about 2 minutes away! We ate out every night and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly pubs and the lovely atmosphere in Uppingham. Have already booked for next year! PERFECT!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great facilities and gorgeous location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Uppingham. There was a group of four adults and one young child and the cottage was well equipped for this. Lovely kitchen with lots of space and nice outside space to sit in the sun. We would definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your complimenary review, so pleased thar you had such a lovely stay, and enjoyed your time at Moss Cottage Uppingham.
I think your review translates something like this.
"A lovely cottage, we felt like we were at home and happy to come back. The environment was very, very nice! Thank you for everything."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing