We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
197
83
31
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
83
31
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskittle alleythe pubvenisonmain buildinghuge bathtiny villageget away from it allrural dorsetpanna cottafish and chipslocal producetea traytwo nightscomfortable bedhot waterlovely roomcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The Brace of Pheasants has been a long time favourite of ours for about 40 years. Beautiful scenery around there with rolling hills. We had a very good meal. 3 had starters of fantastic mushrooms, pate etc. Main courses included battered cod and chips, sirloin steak pie with tasty potatoes, green beans, snow peas and another had plaice and chips with salad, and one had venison. All were delicious. Great choice with a specials board. Desserts included panacotta with marinated figs, choice of 3 lovely ice creams and a chocolate tart. The pub has smart rooms to let. Only thing to let it down were the unattractive loos.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

They were most helpful with a telephone enquiry and were happy for us to bring our dog.
The staff were welcoming and cheery.
The Piddle beer was excellent and not cold so the flavour could be enjoyed.
The food was very good, fish and chips and a pork dish.
The ice cream was of 3 flavours and the tastiest I've had in ages.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We found Plush by accident, and so glad we did. The valley is a gem for walking, and the Brace of Pheasants is all that one could wish for in a country pub. We were in an annex converted from a skittle alley (sadly), but the room was very well fitted out, and each room had its own table and chairs on a sun terrace. Excellent dinner with a choice of real ales

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

It is always nice to get out into the countryside and our visit to the Brace of Pheasants was very enjoyable despite poor weather.
For a start, the pub has a lovely rear garden which, if we could not sit out in it because of the rain, then we could at least enjoy our pints in the shelter of an outdoor seating area which allowed us to look out over well kept borders and lawn.
Inside there was a real treat because the Brace stocked pints of Flack Manor from the Flack Manor brewery at Romsey.
This brew was well kept and tasted delicious, a really lovely pint which was a credit to the pub.
Toilets were well kept and there was an extensive food menu although we did not eat there, so that will be another reason for us to come back another time when we will perhaps be able to eat outside in evening sunshine.
A lovely pub that we would recommend anyone to try out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We booked this lovely inn for a special occasion and we don;t often have the chance for a weekend away. It was a bit tricky getting to the Brace of Pheasants but well worth it. We stayed in one of the rooms converted from a skittle alley. Very comfortable and the only quibble would be the overlarge bath that required steps to use both the bath and the shower..We were told that if a bath was run this would delete the water supply so not sure why a smaller bath isn't put in place or just have a shower? We found the water to be dangerously hot - not sure why there isn't a safety temperature cut off? We loved the food - tasty freshly cooked breakfasts and had both evening meals here too. Thoroughly recommended and would visit again

Room Tip: Rooms in annexe are easy access but beware the steps to bath
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnieBucksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews