We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay, eat or drink”
Review of Brace of Pheasants

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brace of Pheasants
Ranked #1 of 1 Plush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Lovely 16th Century building with a very pleasant atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, serving great food and drink. The accommodation is very good and comfortable. Set in beautiful countryside in a remote hamlet, yet with in reach of a number of visitor attractions.

Room Tip: Some rooms are within the thatched building, others in an annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanRug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

The Brace of Pheasants has been a long time favourite of ours for about 40 years. Beautiful scenery around there with rolling hills. We had a very good meal. 3 had starters of fantastic mushrooms, pate etc. Main courses included battered cod and chips, sirloin steak pie with tasty potatoes, green beans, snow peas and another had plaice and chips with salad, and one had venison. All were delicious. Great choice with a specials board. Desserts included panacotta with marinated figs, choice of 3 lovely ice creams and a chocolate tart. The pub has smart rooms to let. Only thing to let it down were the unattractive loos.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

They were most helpful with a telephone enquiry and were happy for us to bring our dog.
The staff were welcoming and cheery.
The Piddle beer was excellent and not cold so the flavour could be enjoyed.
The food was very good, fish and chips and a pork dish.
The ice cream was of 3 flavours and the tastiest I've had in ages.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We found Plush by accident, and so glad we did. The valley is a gem for walking, and the Brace of Pheasants is all that one could wish for in a country pub. We were in an annex converted from a skittle alley (sadly), but the room was very well fitted out, and each room had its own table and chairs on a sun terrace. Excellent dinner with a choice of real ales

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

It is always nice to get out into the countryside and our visit to the Brace of Pheasants was very enjoyable despite poor weather.
For a start, the pub has a lovely rear garden which, if we could not sit out in it because of the rain, then we could at least enjoy our pints in the shelter of an outdoor seating area which allowed us to look out over well kept borders and lawn.
Inside there was a real treat because the Brace stocked pints of Flack Manor from the Flack Manor brewery at Romsey.
This brew was well kept and tasted delicious, a really lovely pint which was a credit to the pub.
Toilets were well kept and there was an extensive food menu although we did not eat there, so that will be another reason for us to come back another time when we will perhaps be able to eat outside in evening sunshine.
A lovely pub that we would recommend anyone to try out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plush
10.5 km away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
2.2 km away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
352 reviews
6.9 km away
Hunter's Moon
Hunter's Moon
#1 of 1 in Middlemarsh
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
268 reviews
14.3 km away
The Acorn Inn
The Acorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Evershot
457 reviews
5.2 km away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#13 of 45 in Dorchester
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brace of Pheasants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brace of Pheasants

Address: Plush DT2 7RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Plush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plush
Price Range: €117 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brace of Pheasants 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol and Phil Bennett welcome you to our 16th-century thatched inn located in the heart of Hardy's Dorset. We have converted the old skittle alley and function room into four comfortable and stylish bedrooms. After a good night's sleep, you will be set up for the day with a cooked breakfast to your liking. Local ales tapped from the cask, wines by the glass and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brace of Pheasants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brace Of Pheasants Hotel Plush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing