We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Albert Hotel and Spa(Evershot)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Summer Lodge(Evershot)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$347
US$336
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
195
82
31
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
82
31
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskittle alleythe pubvenisonmain buildinghuge bathtiny villageget away from it allrural dorsetfish and chipspanna cottaspecials boardlocal producetea traytwo nightscomfortable bedhot waterlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was truly a hidden gem, located in the tiny village of Plush, hidden away in a valley, but a lovely idyllic place to stay. We stayed for two nights and our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, located behind the thatched pub - a peaceful and quiet location. Very welcoming, friendly and lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent, so good we had dinner on both nights. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly. Breakfast was nice. The room that I booked wasn't what we got so felt I was overcharged. The shower didn't work. We were told once the bath was full we would have to wait an hour for the water to heat up for the next bath to be run. Cleaning could have been better. Ornaments were dusty. Blinds were dirty. Tea tray dishes unclean. Tile in bathroom lose on the floor. Old building or not should be spotless. Very hot in the room at night.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This is a friendly and clean place to stay. We booked late in the day to break our journey and are very glad we did so as our room (no7) had a really comfortable bed. The location is very quite with little or no light pollution so we slept well.
We ate dinner in the bar/ restaurant. The pate was excellent with an ample supply of toast. Unfortunately the main course was disappointing. We both had the same chicken dish and the main ingredient was dry and not tender. Breakfast is served in an adjacent smaller room and good news ! Breakfast is cooked to order and was tasty and hot. Unfortunately the breakfast room was freezing cold ( overnight temp @3') so your food as well as you, cooled pretty rapidly. In fairness these are things that could easily be put right but they are the difference between an excellent stay and one that is just ok. Do not stay in the main building if you have any mobility problems. The bedrooms are up a narrow flight of stairs which turn onto the upper landing under a low sloping ceiling. If you're unsteady on your feet please ask for the annex rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and could not find fault. Our room was lovely, our meals were excellent and all the staff, especially Sarah, were welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Stayed last night. Beautifully presented room ( number 3 in annexe) with very comfortable bed and everything you could need.
Dinner was delicious and breakfast very good.
The staff are very friendly and make this a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms in the annexe
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews