We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday Lunch”
Review of Brace of Pheasants

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brace of Pheasants
Ranked #1 of 1 Plush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Located in an elderly building, we were not expecting much and were suprised at the quality of the food.
The selection was a little reduced due to some of the expected produce not being delivered. The starters were pretty good and so were the mains. The place was virtually empty, not suprising since this is the back of beyond. The entrance is difficult to find, the back of the place was awash with water which we had to get through to get into the restaurant which looks a bit scruffy.and there was only one person doing front of house.
Overall I think we will not bother to go here again until the place is better maintained.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank YeOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Brace of Pheasants
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2015

Just stayed at this pub just for one night to enable us to visit Dorset Badger Watch with some friends, that is just up the road. A nice friendly welcome, great room (shame we didn't have time to try out the HUGE bath ), great food, nice atmosphere. But it is remote.

Room Tip: Have one of the four rooms out in what is called the skittle alley
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

One of the attractions is that the Brace is so secluded and therefore almost guarantees peace and quiet. Last time we visited, we walked for miles in the surrounding countryside but this time, at 6 months pregnant, we opted for food and blissful sleep. The food was excellent again - rabbit starter with venison to follow as a main ticked all the boxes for great game cuisine. Tomato and roasted garlic soup, fish cakes and an angel tower desert kept the missus and wriggler happy. We slept like babies in room 2 out the back in the converted skittle alley. Possibly our favourite place in Dorset.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gibbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We took our Mums here for a birthday lunch and weren't disappointed.
Although they don't cater specifically for kids, we had an area in the restaurant all to ourselves set up with a high chair, which was very comfortable apparently!
The cod & chips main was adapted to feed the little ones, and the wild boar sausages and venison burger special were hits with the adults. Proper good quality pub grub.
A range of real ales and friendly atmosphere makes this a good old fashioned village pub.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank L1vvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We stayed here for 1 night in April 15. The staff were friendly welcoming and attentive.
The room was pleasant and clean, huge bath! We had evening meal and breakfast the next morning, both we're great. We are vegetarians and they did their best to accommodate for us.
The only downfall was there are no central heating, only portable radiators, so was chilly in the bar and breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hema P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plush
23.9 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
302 reviews
10.5 km away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
277 reviews
8.6 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
2.2 km away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
334 reviews
5.0 km away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brace of Pheasants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brace of Pheasants

Address: Plush DT2 7RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Plush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plush
Price Range: €101 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brace of Pheasants 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol and Phil Bennett welcome you to our 16th-century thatched inn located in the heart of Hardy's Dorset. We have converted the old skittle alley and function room into four comfortable and stylish bedrooms. After a good night's sleep, you will be set up for the day with a cooked breakfast to your liking. Local ales tapped from the cask, wines by the glass and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brace of Pheasants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brace Of Pheasants Hotel Plush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing