We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Veronica Hotel(Agii Apostoli)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calypso Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$140
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Helios Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Niriis Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Talos Hotel Apartments(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Athina Beach Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Bay(Agii Apostoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pella Steve II(Agii Apostoli)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,398 results
Traveller rating
1,190
164
36
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,190
164
36
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roomlobby barhalf boardmain restaurantmanagement teamgreek restauranta la carte restaurantsevening entertainmentsea viewwine cellarall inclusive packageaqua bargala nightfabulous hotellow keywaiter servicethe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,398 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We stayed for 7 days in May 2017 and whilst our stay was disturbed by illness, generally we had a great time. The facilities,food and all inclusive package worked out very well.
The staff, including the Management ensured thigs worked like clockwork and nothing was too much trouble.
I was ill for half of the time so my wife,spent some of the days out walking in and around Chania, which is a lovely area to visit.
On my return I was taken from Manchester Airport to Wythenshaw Hospital after an small accident on the. Escalator,and ,on examination found I was running a temperature and diagnosed with pneumonia and spent 8 days in hospital.
Returning now to the Holiday, overall I would thoroughly recommend for an “Adult” holiday, and just relax and enjoy the atpostphere.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better.
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
9  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris T, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear John,

Thank you very much for trusting Sensimar Kalliston resort and Spa by Atlantica for your stay and for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve our services with each and every stay.

Let me now get this chance and inform you that Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world for the third consecutive year in 2017 in Overall Accommodation (from all guests of TUI) and since July 2015, we also hold five Trip Advisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world. Our repeating clientele has exceeded 32% of our total visitors.

We all wish our guests to be happy and even though we do not claim that our hotel is faultless, we can guarantee that we work daily towards perfection. It is only by listening to you - our guests - that we can achieve that.

Kind regards

Dimitris Tsaklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Coach journey through a semi industrial centre. Took approximately 1 hour
Welcome procedures ok but drawn out and had to wait for our cases to get to the room.
In the room I asked for more hangers and they came promptly - good start
Apparently the hotel is mostly British with a smattering of others mainly German
Its not 5 star though - not at all. Nice but not 5 star. For example on Sunday the onsite shop is shut so no newspapers!
Fruit in room was not restocked although the mini bar was. Lots of water provided and small bottles handed out during room turn down.
I ordered an iron and ironing board which came promptly but the iron tripped the fuse.
Reception are very quick at responding to all needs though. Good service
On one day the maid serviced our room whilst we were in it and saw it was a sweep and floor wash as well as usual.

Hotel is right on the beach - literally so great access to the sea. It is a public beach though but everyone seems to get this was the hotels bit. It's about 40 yards mostly covered with sun beds but room to play bat and ball. There is a volleyball pitch used by the sports rep at the hotel.
The beach is hoovered every morning to collect rubbish and other items. A very nice touch.

Cleanliness. The staff are always sweeping and washing everything. One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in.

Sun loungers. Plenty to go around. And people generally stick to the "no reserving" rule until around 8.00. But even then there are still plenty so if you are a late riser then it's no worries.

In general the meals were OK but not spectacular. The choice was a bit bland at time yet at other times very good.
The one criticism is nothing is where you think it should be. It's all jumbled. So for example you have bacon and fried eggs at one place. Poached eggs on another. Sausages another and beans yet another. Not an issue but things take a bit of locating.
Breakfast however was very good and lunch was pretty good too. Its a short walk to the side restaurant, which becomes the Greek Restaurant in the evening.
Maitre d' is excellent. Recognises people well and remembers there favourite table.

Menu. Doesn't always deliver what it says.
For example in the Greek Restaurant Lemon cake with Lemon Sauce has no sauce. Often Cheese and Ham pizza is just Cheese and so on.

Dinner at the Italian restaurant was impressive though the staff are just too attentive. I know it's nitpicking but it can be too much to keep stopping your conversation because a waitress wants to fill your glass with water.
The food and ambience is amazing though so well worth the visit.

Greek Restaurant
This is awful.
The menu choice is very limited. The food was bland and the meat was clearly cheap. I ordered lemonade which was the worse I have ever drunk. It really was bad. The food quality is not good at all. In fact the Greek themed night in the main restaurant was much better.
To top it all one of our spoons was dirty so we asked for a replacement and it never arrived. Shocking service.

Asian Restaurant
This is great food but beware. The portions are enormous. This did lead to an embarrassing moment. Both my wife and I left some of the meal as there was just so much. The waitress enquired if everything was ok which is fair enough. Then the operations manager turned up and was just rude in the way he questioned us around the left over meal. Then the waitress came back again to make sure we were ok. Then the customer relations manager turned up and whilst she was lovely again she asked about the meal and it all got a bit silly. Shame really as the restaurant is lovely. Worth visiting but beware of the large portions especially the duck. It was more than I would normally order for my family. Good but just too much.

We used the side pool which was very quiet and ideal for relaxing.
Not cold at all - except when first get in of course like every pool on the planet
Good view of beach and literally 30 yards from the surf so the best of both worlds.

Towel return shuts quite early at 5.30 so plan for that.

The beach bar well serviced with staff and not at all busy.

Evening entertainment is poor really. Two guys playing guitars and singing badly was not what was expected.
Lunch time Greek dancing. Was hoping for a demo but it was more interactive though it was good to see how to do it.
One evening session the dancers were late which messed things up a tad.

We tried to book two meals at the reception and it was easy. Booking at the Spa took ages to though so be prepared.

Pharmacy is out of hotel and turn right. It about 6/700m not the 200m as the sign says. Nearby supermarket is more of a corner shop. Sells essentials and beach equipment.

Visit to Spa
Nightmare. The Jetlag treatment is a waste of time and the whole experience was confusing.
It could be so much better.
Having said that my wife did book a massage so maybe it wasn't all bad. She had the body massage which she said was amazing.

Avoid the movie night. Watched a movie in the Golden Lounge however the sound was poor and noise from the bar very much interfered with the sound. Daft place to host it really.

Gala Night
Everyone (well most) dresses in black and white and there is a presentation of the senior staff with a glass of champagne. It's actually rather good.

Sunset BBQ. Not really a BBQ just some ribs else all the same. People encouraged to wear Red, Orange or Yellow which some complied with.

Beach party was really just a few cocktails and some middle aged women doing the Macarena. The hotel does try though and the staff are engaging at these events.

Full moon party was amazing. Good music, a fire on the beach, dancing on the sand, cocktails. Just awesome.

Seafood night - lots of seafood but other meat too. Asked to wear blue or white

Shop shuts on a Sunday and is very expensive too. Sun cream that would
Normally cost €10/11 costs €20.

I must mention Raluca who brought us drinks around the pool, Service was excellent.

So overall I really enjoyed the holiday even if the hotel had some issues. I would recommend it and would happily go back although definitely avoid the Operations Manager

Room Tip: Higher the better
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank ChrisB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris T, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for trusting Sensimar Kalliston resort and Spa by Atlantica for your stay and for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve our services with each and every stay.

We at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, honor ourselves for catering to different gastronomic needs which is why we offer seven theme nights in our main restaurant Deep Blue, specifically chosen by our gastronomic team to satisfy our esteemed clients. Every single gastronomic night in the main restaurant offers a variety of more than 35 dishes. Moreover, we operate Gialos Greek Restaurant (the one you visited) with original Greek dishes cooked by Greek local cooks, Al Fresco Italian Restaurant, Yuni-Ko Asian restaurant and Wine Cellar, our gourmet restaurant with upscale international cuisine and rare vintages from the best wine producing regions of the world.

Moreover, the entertainment program of The Kalliston, offers ten different music nights every week (incl traditional Greek music, Rock Ballads, Cretan Folk dance, Acoustic night, Tropical dance night, beach party and others). I am really sorry that some of them were not to your taste. I have already noted your comments about our entertainment program and we will consider them for the future.

Let me now get this chance and inform you that Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world for the third consecutive year in 2017 in Overall Accommodation (from all guests of TUI) and since July 2015, we also hold five Trip Advisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world. Our repeating clientele has exceeded 32% of our total visitors.

We all wish our guests to be happy and even though we do not claim that our hotel is faultless, we can guarantee that we work daily towards perfection. It is only by listening to you - our guests - that we can achieve that.

Kind regards

Dimitris Tsaklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

My wife and I are so glad that we chose this hotel. It has a great location backing onto a quiet sandy beach, and just a few miles from town of Chania.
The Hotel has a selection of swimming pools as well as also benefitting from its lovely beach location.
From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. All the staff that we met were extremely friendly pleasant and helpful, we went for a quiet relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we had.
We both enjoyed the food, from the morning breakfast to evening dinner the menu was full and varied for each sitting so there was something there for everyone.
Our room was large and had a sea view and was cleaned impeccably each day of our holiday.
Evening entertainment was relaxed with two Cretan guitar players being my favourite, playing and singing too a wide selection of popular songs.
The secret ingredient that this hotel provide is the staff, they seem genuinely happy in what they do, they work extremely well together and are almost fanatical about providing a common goal of great customer service, a goal that they seem to meet and surpass on many occasions.It is very easy to see why this hotel was voted the best Tui hotel. In fact a Tui conference was held at the hotel towards the end of our stay.
Despite experiencing lovely weather throughout our holiday on one of the the final days of our stay we were hit with the worst one days rain that Crete had experienced for many years, there was severe flooding, and the beach was destroyed with debris everywhere.
This was just a freak of nature nobody was to blame the resulting unexpected problems were dealt with as best they could be.
If the UK comes to a grinding halt when a few inches of snow arrives, then im sure the Cretans can be excused for something just as unexpected.
A big thank you to the staff and management for providing us with many happy memories - Richard & Dawn W
.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris T, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Richard & Dawn,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor, following your stay at Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa by Atlantica.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to know that the facilities and services provided within the resort provided such an added value for you. I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team; they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

Let me now get this chance and inform you that Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa by Atlantica was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world for the third consecutive year in 2017 in Overall Accommodation (from all guests of TUI) and since July 2015, we also hold five Trip Advisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world. Our repeating clientele has exceeded 32% of our total visitors.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel hopefully in the very near future.

Best regards
Dimitris Tsaklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Its taken me a while to get around to submitting this review for which I feel guilty but as people will be booking their holidays around now hopefully this will help.
Our holiday at the Kalliston Resort was one of our best ever thanks to the unbelievably welcome staff, amazing service and beautiful surroundings.
Many people have also commented on the service at this hotel and I agree with everything they say. The service is truly exceptional ...every member of staff is SO FRIENDLY! I have stayed at lots of great hotels but none compare to the amazing people at the Kalliston.
The rooms are really well fitted and spacious and the pool areas and grounds beautifully presented. I particularly enjoyed being sprayed with cooling Aloe Vera Water by the spa staf whilst lounging on the plentiful sun beds ....you really do feel like you are being pampered!!
The beach is absolutely gorgeous soft sand and as the hotel has its on section you could wander down at any time and find beds free.
At the end of the day came dinner ....wow!! A different choice and theme every evening and it was just fantastic,
I cant fault anything with this hotel ... we wont hesitate to go back again.. in fcat we cant wait.
Thank you to the truly exceptionl management and staff at the Kalliston Resort!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris T, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Mike,

I am happy to know that your experience at Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa by Atlantica was amazing from start to end, I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share a detailed review on Trip Advisor. Comments like yours, give us strength to work towards perfection by offering you personalized services.

As you may remember from my presentation Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world for the third consecutive year in 2017 in Overall Accommodation (from all guests of TUI) and since July 2015, we also hold five Trip Advisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world. Our repeating clientele has exceeded 32% of our total visitors.

We all value your views and it is only by listening to you that we can improve our products and services.

Kind regards

Dimitris Tsaklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in and only a three and a half hours from Birmingham.When you are met at the hotel by managers and staff and given cold towel and a drink you know this feels good.The food here is very good and no one should have a problem finding something to eat.We had no problem getting a sunbed on the beach but by 9 - 30 in the morning the pool area was quite full but there are a few more pools available to use.The staff here are incredible always got a smile and a hello for you and that is down to the cleaning staff as well and the rooms are kept lovely.The only thing in the evening that the entertainment is a bit low key.This is such a lovely hotel in every way even when you leave all the managers see you off and shake hands with everyone as they get on the coach.This hotel is sure to get people coming back year after year.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris T, Διευθυντής at TUI SENSIMAR KALLISTON Resort & Spa by ATLANTICA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Graham,

I am so happy to read of your experience with our Resort and would like to personally thank you for choosing Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa by Atlantica among the many options available in Greece. It is very pleasing to read how much you have enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for acknowledging our commitment to our high standards

As you may remember from my presentation Tui Sensimar Kalliston Resort & Spa was awarded as the BEST Adults Only hotel in the world for the third consecutive year in 2017 in Overall Accommodation (from all guests of TUI) and since July 2015, we also hold five Trip Advisor stars, a classification awarded to less than 1% of all the hotels in the world. Our repeating clientele has exceeded 32% of our total visitors.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Dimitris Tsaklas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews