We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect village accodation”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Chose here to take in a dinner at River Cottage and proved a great find - rooms are in a wing at the back -large and comfortable/hotel with great character at the front/good cooked breakfast for you to nominate and hospitable owner - this is all in a charming village with numerous thatched house and village accessed by great hedge lanes - close to Axminster - a comfortable stay in a great setting

Room Tip: Rooms separate from pub and is a quite village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sig888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Just returning home after a brilliant weekend at the George inn. We stayed as a base for a river cottage visit and were extremely happy with our stay. Every member of staff were so helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Excellent beer and food. Accommodation was great and the whole village is lovely and people very friendly. Lovely walks round the area and down by the river. Will definately stay again. Thanks to all.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank spanisht0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stayed here as a pit stop on our way down to Cornwall, what an absolute find, a beautiful pub physically, but the welcome we received from the staff was amazing. The rooms are basic, and as per a previous review the bathrooms do need an update, but this is on the cards (the current owners have only had it for around a year, and are methodically updating each area) The rooms are separate to the pub if anyone is worried about noise from the bar disrupting sleep (as I was)The food was amazing, normal pub food, but all home cooked, and way above the normal pub standard. Breakfast was awesome, my partner had probably the best bacon sandwich ever, but all the usual choices are available. All in all a brilliant place to visit, and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Having just moved into the village of Chardstock, we needed a place to eat and drink after a long day moving down from the Home Counties. We chose the George, as we had been there before, and anticipated an opportunity to enjoy some good food and fine beer/wine. We were not disappointed as we had a great meal washed down by a couple of beers and wines. We will be spending more time at the pub!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at this pub, on arrival we were met by a lovely young lad who made us feel very welcome. We settled in to our room which was cosy and warm and perfect loved the Monet pictures. Went down for our meal which was fantastic tasty king prawns and the steak sizzler was perfectly cooked, also love the fact they use local suppliers for their produce. Highly recommend this pub for a visit, the history at this place is fascinating too

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clari-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardstock
12.4 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
446 reviews
4.4 km away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
708 reviews
6.7 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Chard Street, Chardstock EX13 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chardstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, 16th century thatched Devon village Pub and Restaurant with Bed and Breakfast. Serving local ales and home-cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Chardstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing