We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$172
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kerrington House(Axminster)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ilminster(Horton Cross)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
67
41
10
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
41
10
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnew ownerschanged handslovely old pubselection of local alesfantastic mealgood home cooked foodsteak nightgenerous portionscharming villagethatched innfriendly welcomeriver cottagean evening mealvery pleasant stayfull english breakfastcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Just returning home after a brilliant weekend at the George inn. We stayed as a base for a river cottage visit and were extremely happy with our stay. Every member of staff were so helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Excellent beer and food. Accommodation was great and the whole village is lovely and people very friendly. Lovely walks round the area and down by the river. Will definately stay again. Thanks to all.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank spanisht0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stayed here as a pit stop on our way down to Cornwall, what an absolute find, a beautiful pub physically, but the welcome we received from the staff was amazing. The rooms are basic, and as per a previous review the bathrooms do need an update, but this is on the cards (the current owners have only had it for around a year, and are methodically updating each area) The rooms are separate to the pub if anyone is worried about noise from the bar disrupting sleep (as I was)The food was amazing, normal pub food, but all home cooked, and way above the normal pub standard. Breakfast was awesome, my partner had probably the best bacon sandwich ever, but all the usual choices are available. All in all a brilliant place to visit, and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All appear to be good
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Having just moved into the village of Chardstock, we needed a place to eat and drink after a long day moving down from the Home Counties. We chose the George, as we had been there before, and anticipated an opportunity to enjoy some good food and fine beer/wine. We were not disappointed as we had a great meal washed down by a couple of beers and wines. We will be spending more time at the pub!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at this pub, on arrival we were met by a lovely young lad who made us feel very welcome. We settled in to our room which was cosy and warm and perfect loved the Monet pictures. Went down for our meal which was fantastic tasty king prawns and the steak sizzler was perfectly cooked, also love the fact they use local suppliers for their produce. Highly recommend this pub for a visit, the history at this place is fascinating too

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clari-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the George inn on NYE as a base to go to river cottage, the owners are lovely people and opened the bar early for us so we could all have a drink before our pick-up at 6, the guy even took a friend to the local shop for something which was really kind. We got back quite late and they kept the bar open till 4.30am so a few of us could carry on drinking, it is such a lovely pub. The rooms are pretty basic and bathrooms could do with a refit but hey for £70 including breakfast we thought it was excellent value and the personal service was outstanding. Thankyou to the owners for making us very welcome.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Sarahbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews