We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ilminster(Horton Cross)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
66
41
10
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
41
10
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnew ownerschanged handslovely old pubselection of local alesfantastic mealgood home cooked foodsteak nightgenerous portionscharming villagethatched innfriendly welcomeriver cottagean evening mealvery pleasant stayfull english breakfastcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Having just moved into the village of Chardstock, we needed a place to eat and drink after a long day moving down from the Home Counties. We chose the George, as we had been there before, and anticipated an opportunity to enjoy some good food and fine beer/wine. We were not disappointed as we had a great meal washed down by a couple of beers and wines. We will be spending more time at the pub!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at this pub, on arrival we were met by a lovely young lad who made us feel very welcome. We settled in to our room which was cosy and warm and perfect loved the Monet pictures. Went down for our meal which was fantastic tasty king prawns and the steak sizzler was perfectly cooked, also love the fact they use local suppliers for their produce. Highly recommend this pub for a visit, the history at this place is fascinating too

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clari-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the George inn on NYE as a base to go to river cottage, the owners are lovely people and opened the bar early for us so we could all have a drink before our pick-up at 6, the guy even took a friend to the local shop for something which was really kind. We got back quite late and they kept the bar open till 4.30am so a few of us could carry on drinking, it is such a lovely pub. The rooms are pretty basic and bathrooms could do with a refit but hey for £70 including breakfast we thought it was excellent value and the personal service was outstanding. Thankyou to the owners for making us very welcome.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Sarahbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Hard one to rate so I'll start with the good. Lovely owners, very clean bed and towels, hot shower, toiletries, bottled water and stunning breakfast. Bad points, booked a pub to have a night in the bar instead of sitting in the room unfortunately it closed at 4pm and didn't reopen. Room carpet horrible brown stains and bathroom seriously in need of update. Sorry but at the price paid wouldn't return.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Though we had booked, our family party of nine turned up nearly and hour and a half early. Despite this, the landlord, chef and staff were extremely welcoming and were able to seat and feed us almost immediately. To be honest, I am not a fan of carveries in general, but the pork and beef were both delicious - and most importantly, the veg and Yorkshires were freshly and beautifully cooked.

Thanks for the George Inn for a very warm welcome and for the lovely food. Based on our experience, I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hilary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews