We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stayed here as a pit stop on our way down to Cornwall, what an absolute find, a beautiful pub physically, but the welcome we received from the staff was amazing. The rooms are basic, and as per a previous review the bathrooms do need an update, but this is on the cards (the current owners have only had it for around a year, and are methodically updating each area) The rooms are separate to the pub if anyone is worried about noise from the bar disrupting sleep (as I was)The food was amazing, normal pub food, but all home cooked, and way above the normal pub standard. Breakfast was awesome, my partner had probably the best bacon sandwich ever, but all the usual choices are available. All in all a brilliant place to visit, and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Having just moved into the village of Chardstock, we needed a place to eat and drink after a long day moving down from the Home Counties. We chose the George, as we had been there before, and anticipated an opportunity to enjoy some good food and fine beer/wine. We were not disappointed as we had a great meal washed down by a couple of beers and wines. We will be spending more time at the pub!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night at this pub, on arrival we were met by a lovely young lad who made us feel very welcome. We settled in to our room which was cosy and warm and perfect loved the Monet pictures. Went down for our meal which was fantastic tasty king prawns and the steak sizzler was perfectly cooked, also love the fact they use local suppliers for their produce. Highly recommend this pub for a visit, the history at this place is fascinating too

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clari-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the George inn on NYE as a base to go to river cottage, the owners are lovely people and opened the bar early for us so we could all have a drink before our pick-up at 6, the guy even took a friend to the local shop for something which was really kind. We got back quite late and they kept the bar open till 4.30am so a few of us could carry on drinking, it is such a lovely pub. The rooms are pretty basic and bathrooms could do with a refit but hey for £70 including breakfast we thought it was excellent value and the personal service was outstanding. Thankyou to the owners for making us very welcome.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Sarahbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Hard one to rate so I'll start with the good. Lovely owners, very clean bed and towels, hot shower, toiletries, bottled water and stunning breakfast. Bad points, booked a pub to have a night in the bar instead of sitting in the room unfortunately it closed at 4pm and didn't reopen. Room carpet horrible brown stains and bathroom seriously in need of update. Sorry but at the price paid wouldn't return.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardstock
12.4 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
446 reviews
4.4 km away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
708 reviews
6.7 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Chard Street, Chardstock EX13 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chardstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, 16th century thatched Devon village Pub and Restaurant with Bed and Breakfast. Serving local ales and home-cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Chardstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing