We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch visit”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Driving down to stay with friends for the bank holiday and wanted some lunch. Saw the sign beside the main road advertising the George Inn and thought we would give it a try.
Located at the cross road in a very pleasant village. Good parking, wandered through the rear courtyard into the main bar areas. Various levels and seating areas give great quirky appeal. Ordered drinks and took menus and driks to enjoy the sun outside. In due course our order was taken. When the food arrived it looked fantastic. All vegetables and salads looked so fresh. My partner had scampi and there was lots of it beautifully cooked. I went for the mixed grill. I had the meat cooked medium and all the steak, gammon, lamb chop and sausage had such flavour rather that the same taste that so offten is the case. The waiting staff and the manager came and checked to see if all was well which was nice. And proper linen napkins, touch above the normal paer squares!
So great meal, excellent service, very nice peole, lovely location. A very pleasant meal at a sensible price. I look forward to returning for another mixed grill.
Well done the george Inn.

Room Tip: As we only stopped for lunch I can not comment on the hotel side of the business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 203john369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016

we met here two couples from Cornwall and one from Gloucestershire. What a lovely ,friendly welcome nice rooms and pleasant pub. Landlord and staff couldn't do enough to make you feel chilled and relaxed .Very tasty evening meal. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fayhockin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, great food, Friendly Landlord and staff, enjoying our stay in the quaint rooms...Have experienced several local areas and this us a great location. The locals aren't bed either despite other reviews....I really hope people find this useful enjoy your stay.....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We walked here across bridleways and footpaths with two dogs and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and we are both vegetarians. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are dog treats on the bar

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 245heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We spent two night B&B recently, I say B&B because 1 week before we visited we received an email informing us that the restaurant didn't open Sunday, Monday and Tuesday night and as we were staying Monday and Tuesday night it meant having to find alternative eating places. The establishment changed hands late last year and is to be refurbished. So far as we could see the refurb so far has been done behind the scenes as apart from new mattresses and a bit of decoration the bedrooms and particularly the bathrooms are still in need of much work. It should also be noted that apart from 2 hooks in the bedroom there is NO hanging space and very little drawer space which meant we didn't unpack suitcases. It can't be denied that the place does have a certain rustic charm and should be nice when and if the necessary work is completed. On the positive the sheets were clean and new, the breakfast was good and the owners very pleasant. It will be interesting to visit 12 months in the future to see if it is more ready for guests.

Stayed: July 2016
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chardstock
12.4 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
4.2 km away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
351 reviews
4.4 km away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Chard Street, Chardstock EX13 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chardstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chardstock
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, 16th century thatched Devon village Pub and Restaurant with Bed and Breakfast. Serving local ales and home-cooked food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Chardstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing