We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
78
43
10
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
43
10
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub changed hands sunday roast selection of local ales good home cooked food fantastic meal game pie dog friendly pub steak night charming village enjoyable weekend generous portions river cottage thatched inn piping hot welcoming hosts bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

we met here two couples from Cornwall and one from Gloucestershire. What a lovely ,friendly welcome nice rooms and pleasant pub. Landlord and staff couldn't do enough to make you feel chilled and relaxed .Very tasty evening meal. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fayhockin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, great food, Friendly Landlord and staff, enjoying our stay in the quaint rooms...Have experienced several local areas and this us a great location. The locals aren't bed either despite other reviews....I really hope people find this useful enjoy your stay.....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LisaB5302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We walked here across bridleways and footpaths with two dogs and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and we are both vegetarians. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are dog treats on the bar

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 245heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We spent two night B&B recently, I say B&B because 1 week before we visited we received an email informing us that the restaurant didn't open Sunday, Monday and Tuesday night and as we were staying Monday and Tuesday night it meant having to find alternative eating places. The establishment changed hands late last year and is to be refurbished. So far as we could see the refurb so far has been done behind the scenes as apart from new mattresses and a bit of decoration the bedrooms and particularly the bathrooms are still in need of much work. It should also be noted that apart from 2 hooks in the bedroom there is NO hanging space and very little drawer space which meant we didn't unpack suitcases. It can't be denied that the place does have a certain rustic charm and should be nice when and if the necessary work is completed. On the positive the sheets were clean and new, the breakfast was good and the owners very pleasant. It will be interesting to visit 12 months in the future to see if it is more ready for guests.

Stayed: July 2016
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We visited this pub on holiday as it was just around a mile from the holiday cottage we were staying in.We were served drinks and our lunch order was taken . I chose the scampi,chips ,peas and salad,and my husband had the haddock fish cakes with chips, peas and salad . The food was good on portions and was nice and hot. However there was very little haddock in the fish cakes - was mostly potato,cheese and herbs!! disappointing!!the pub itself was very pretty ,old thatch and most of interior was in keeping. However artificial flowers in fire hearth did not look good and the choice of pre-set music was not in keeping with an old fashioned pub ,in fact it was quite annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews