We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
78
42
10
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
42
10
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub changed hands sunday roast selection of local ales good home cooked food fantastic meal game pie dog friendly pub steak night charming village enjoyable weekend generous portions river cottage thatched inn piping hot welcoming hosts bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Stayed two nights in this very friendly family run b&b. The food is real home cooking and plentiful. The cooked breakfast set us up for the day and the evening meal menu was varied and well priced. Be aware they don't offer food on Tuesday's but we were offered another local place to eat. The room was comfortable and the bed gave us a good nights sleep. Peaceful setting with plenty of places to visit. Be prepared to have a few aaaws with Daisy !!!!! Friendly locals. Recommended

Room Tip: Quite steep stairs to two rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We booked for two nights B&B as were visiting River Cottage food fair. We arrived lunch time, be prepared for some pretty hairy back lanes! Lovely quiet location, proper old fashioned village pub. Accommodation was across the court yard, which meant we didn't hear any pub noise. The young bar man was pleasant and showed us where our room was. Very clean, bathroom rather dated, but as with bedroom - very clean, the owner later told us they had only recently taken over lease and bathrooms were due to be refurbished. Having said this, the shower was very powerful, lovely soft water. We had lots booked in so weren't at the room much, but the owners were friendly and chatted with us on our return on the Sunday afternoon.What would have been helpful, was if the the young barman we first met had told us where and what time breakfast was, and that the pub and most of local pubs etc were closed Sunday's from 4pm. Or at least an information pack in the room would have been helpful, would also have liked Wifi in the bedrooms. However, as the title says, work in progress, would return and hopefully see this facility continue to grow and thrive. Great recommendation of place to eat on the Sunday once we discovered The George was closed. On the down side, probably the most uncomfortable bed I Have ever not slept in!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Saz196915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Had lunch with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed the freshly cooked & well served food. A lovely old English Inn with period features and friendly hosts. We certainly hope to return. A bit off the beaten track but well worth coming off the main road to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This was a one night stay before visiting River Cottage. This B&B has recently changed hands (October 2015). A warm welcome was given to us by the owners - clearly a family run business who are keen to please - nothing too much trouble - we were only to ask. Lovely traditional pub with a great atmosphere. Rooms are in a separate building away from the pub and as explained to us are a work in progress - bathrooms need updating but I believe this is one of their next jobs - nevertheless, shower was very hot and good pressure. Good value for money - lovely full English breakfast

Room Tip: If you can choose an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We went here for a local theme evening meal where a local Indian lady cooked authentic Indian food for two consecutive nights. The food was great. The atmosphere was great and the beer was jolly good too. There were eight of us and we had a table and room to ourselves. The staff (young ladies) were attentive, jolly and just pleasant to deal with. Great evening

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews