We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your Gateway to Perth's Island Playground... Rottnest, Western Australia's most beautiful island is just 19km off the coast of Perth, and a lightning fast ocean crossing away in air conditioned comfort on one of our high speed ferries. Departing Hillarys Boat Harbour daily, Rottnest Fast Ferries offers a variety of self-guided and all inclusive packages to help you create a memorable island experience. Bike and snorkel equipment available to hire prior to boarding, so you can set off to explore at your own pace as soon as you arrive at Rottnest Island! Coastal and Whale Watching cruises operate seasonally, showing off Perth's scenic Sunset Coast. Enjoy complimentary coach transfers from accommodation in Perth City, Crown, Northbridge and Scarborough, or take advantage of free parking in Hillarys Boat Harbour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It was a great trip to Rottnest with ferry and bike hire. Bikes were a tad rusty and not in tip top condition but they did their job and got us round be island. The trip from Hillarys boatyard is is much longer than that of Fremantle. The lower deck was a bit musty as well on the ship but they facilitated a fantastic day on Rottnest Island. Salmon Bay is a must visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JamesTaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottnestFF, Manager at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Our Bike and Ferry combo is a great way to experience the Island. We have a fleet of custom hire bikes which are maintained in-house to the highest standard. Im am sorry you thought your bike was a bit rusty and not in the best condition. I am currently looking into this to find the particular bike you are referring too so we can take action.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

The Team at Rottnest Fast Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"day trip"
in 37 reviews
"rottnest island"
in 56 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 13 reviews
"ferry service"
in 12 reviews
"mr bean"
in 9 reviews
"hire bikes"
in 6 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 4 reviews
"rottnest express"
in 6 reviews
"loading and unloading"
in 4 reviews
"salmon bay"
in 4 reviews
"return journey"
in 4 reviews
"fast service"
in 3 reviews
"grand tour"
in 3 reviews
"family pass"
in 3 reviews
"enjoyable ride"
in 3 reviews
"comfy seats"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 9 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wedding anniversary run out for the day to Rotto and the ferry left on time and was fast and smooth. We were on the back in the outdoor area and watched as Perth slipped away.

The return was just as good. Everything was on time no delays and orderly. We left from Hillarys and it was spot on.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Heath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottnestFF, Manager at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi CultOfOne,

Thank you for your review and wishing you a happy wedding anniversary from the team at Rottnest Fast Ferries. Its great to hear that your trip was seamless. We pride ourselves on making the experience as worry free as possible and keeping to our timetables to ensure that you have the most time possible on the Island with out delays.

We look forward to seeing travelling from Hillarys once again in the near future.

Thanks

The Team at Rottnest Fast Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Went to the island for a day trip to the beach. After a short ferry ride we went for a quick cup of tea before heading to the beach. Quokkas are all around you and are very inquisitive animals, especially if they can smell food in your bag don’t be fooled by their cutlet faces as the are masters of deception.... while one has your attention looking all cute and adorable another sneaks up from behind and goes in your bag! But a lovely day out I would recommend it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank L33_B1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottnestFF, Manager at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi L33_B1976,

Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing to hear that our customers enjoyed their experience on Rottnest Island. The beaches are second to none and the Quokkas so adorable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

The team at Rottnest Fast Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Cost an arm and a leg to jump onboard . You really don't have much choice. Rotness Island however is wonderful and that's the only reason this boat gets business. The staff are friendly the boat itself is cumfy and class but unfortunately you will have to sell your children to pay for a return ticket.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank tummychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottnestFF, Manager at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi Tummychat,

Thank you for your review. As you have mentioned Rottnest Island is a wonderful place to visit and we are glad you enjoyed your time their. We are sorry to hear that you believe the ferry fare to get to the Island is expensive. Rottnest Fast Ferries works hard on providing our customers with the best possible value. We are constantly introducing discounts and specials into the market all year round. As Rottnest Island is an A Class reserve the ferry operators are bound by legislation to collect an Admission fee on behalf of the Government for every passenger that travels. This fee is included in your return ferry fare and goes towards the upkeep, maintenance and protection of this magical Island to ensure that it stays this way.

We hope to see you travel with us again and be sure to check out our specials page on our website for the best deals.

Thank you, the team at Rottnest Fast Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Ferry from Hillaries to Rottnest. 2nd visit to Rottnest - busier this time due to school holidays but still a good day out. Ferry over a bit choppy, take an anti emetic pill an hour before to prevent sea sickness. You have been duly forewarned!

Quokkas are fabulous little critters but we did see a couple of fights break out between them this visit (? mating season or something). Couple of decent eating places on the island but hope it does not become too commercialised as it would loose much of its charm and eco friendliness.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank trickcyclist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottnestFF, Manager at Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Trickcyclist_12,

Thank you for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your second visit across to the Island. The Quokkas are always fascinating to see in their natural environment. There are an abundance of eating options on the Island all of high quality.

We hope to see you again on your third visit to the Island!

Thank you,

The Team at Rottnest Fast Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours also viewed

Scarborough, Stirling
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing