We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
144
80
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
80
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful setting remote location great value for money amazing place castle restaurant drive furniture building venue choices bell paintings
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This is another gem I had the pleasure to visit in many many occasions. Mostly for dinners as one of my favorite places near my hometown Pavia.
The Castle is approximately 40 miles from Milan and approximately 68 miles from the Milan Malpensa Airport. It's perfect for people willing to explore some of the best "less touristic" routes in Italy. It's conveniently located along the highway that takes you from Milan to Genova, Portofino, Santa Margherita, Cinque Terre or French Riviera you you prefer French Toast! The food here has been a classic for years and never turned me down. Risotto's with Truffles or Without (depending on the season) never turned me down. The set up is in a great 15th Century Historic Castle and I think it's worth a a stay if you want to visit the Oltrepo' Pavese, Pavia, vigevano, some of the most beautiful towns south of Milan.
Don't tell too many people about this place!! It's your little secret!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the castle and other rooms in a separate building. Make sure you reserve the right one if you like the castle feel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank sampelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed here for 3 days for a meeting it was fantastic. It was like a journey back in time with a lot of museum pieces hanging around. from vintage chairs, paintings and furniture to the grand place itself. The rooms are clean, got a room fronting the courtyard. The staff are well trained to take care of your needs. A place for honeymooners, couples, weddings and meetings as it is 6 km away from the nearest city/town.

Breakfast was okay but perhaps can include more choices, took a 16 km morning run and be careful as along the highway with those dotted farm houses are some dogs not chained.

Place has a pool and small gym . You can also request to eat outside the garden with good bottles of bottles of wine or beer.

Room Tip: Higher floor, you can see the courtyard,
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank windjammer214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We were on a 5 week trip around Europe in August-September and so had to be cognizant of a budget. We had been getting by on 80 euro a night places and hadn't been disappointed. But when we stopped in the piazza in Voghera to find a place in the area to spend the night, up popped this deal for the Castello. We pulled in on our motorcycle a few minutes later, and I was feeling a bit underdressed. The parking lot had a lot of high end cars. The staff and guests made us very welcome and the experience was amazing. Our room is pictured here on TripAdviser and was magnificent, with our own balcony overlooking the garden and fountains. The food was excellent, the best meal we had in Italy. Truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank K2Enumclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We were visiting friends who live in the area and they suggested this hotel because it was close to the activities they had planned for the weekend. It seems like this is a popular wedding location, but that did not inconvenience us at all beyond not being able to stay there on Friday night. We could only stay one night because there were two weddings taking place on Saturday and all of their rooms were booked on Friday. What a loss! We wish we could have spent more time at this lovely hotel.

Our room was huge, with a large bath, a sitting room with fireplace, and a spacious sleeping room with a comfortable bed. We had a view of the grounds and gardens to the front and a view of the courtyard from our balcony.

Seven of us had dinner on Saturday evening in the dining room. The room was very nice and the service was efficient. Several members of our group ordered the regional tasting menu. Others ordered specific items a la carte. Everyone was very happy with their choice! I have been told that people stay here specifically to dine at the restaurant. I am not sure it is up to that level, but it certainly was very good.

The gardens were beautiful with sculpture, a fountain, and a gazebo. We really wish we had been able to stay two nights, but I am sure we will have an opportunity to stay again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Beautiful 14th century castle with formal grounds around it including very grand fountain. The food and wine are really excellent using local produce and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The dining room is well set out and was very busy for a relatively remote location

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews