We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
143
77
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
77
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castello di beautiful setting remote location main building great value for money amazing place castle san restaurant courtyard architecture milan drive shops furniture venue choices
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We were on a 5 week trip around Europe in August-September and so had to be cognizant of a budget. We had been getting by on 80 euro a night places and hadn't been disappointed. But when we stopped in the piazza in Voghera to find a place in the area to spend the night, up popped this deal for the Castello. We pulled in on our motorcycle a few minutes later, and I was feeling a bit underdressed. The parking lot had a lot of high end cars. The staff and guests made us very welcome and the experience was amazing. Our room is pictured here on TripAdviser and was magnificent, with our own balcony overlooking the garden and fountains. The food was excellent, the best meal we had in Italy. Truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank K2Enumclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We were visiting friends who live in the area and they suggested this hotel because it was close to the activities they had planned for the weekend. It seems like this is a popular wedding location, but that did not inconvenience us at all beyond not being able to stay there on Friday night. We could only stay one night because there were two weddings taking place on Saturday and all of their rooms were booked on Friday. What a loss! We wish we could have spent more time at this lovely hotel.

Our room was huge, with a large bath, a sitting room with fireplace, and a spacious sleeping room with a comfortable bed. We had a view of the grounds and gardens to the front and a view of the courtyard from our balcony.

Seven of us had dinner on Saturday evening in the dining room. The room was very nice and the service was efficient. Several members of our group ordered the regional tasting menu. Others ordered specific items a la carte. Everyone was very happy with their choice! I have been told that people stay here specifically to dine at the restaurant. I am not sure it is up to that level, but it certainly was very good.

The gardens were beautiful with sculpture, a fountain, and a gazebo. We really wish we had been able to stay two nights, but I am sure we will have an opportunity to stay again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Beautiful 14th century castle with formal grounds around it including very grand fountain. The food and wine are really excellent using local produce and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The dining room is well set out and was very busy for a relatively remote location

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A litte difficult to find but well worth it. We arrived in June and the setting is amazing, an old castle tucked away in the Italian countryside, the rooms are a little dated but I think this adds to the charm. We were here for business meeting, we had one meeting room and an old library which we ate in one day. The restaurant is great, if a little difficult to find down a long corridor. The service is good. Its all very old school, room keys with tassels, waiters wearing white tuxedos. Overall a beautiful place though. We paid around €85 per night which was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Beautiful park setting and main building. However, a large part of the building is recently built and many rooms are in this part. It might need some refurbishment, but a certain touch of out-of-fashion in the decoration is not unpleasant. Service is OK, but should improve in the timing of delivery/responses, attention for details, etc. Breakfast should be less standard (toomuch like in a hotel chain) to be consistent with the peculiarity of the establishment. Rooms in the old part have amazingly high ceilings and a lot of space. Bathrooms are kind from the Seventies. Nice swimming pool área.

Room Tip: Prefer those in the old building, old-fashioned but very large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews