We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
62
33
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
33
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests nudist resort au naturel public beach gay men second visit piece of paradise female staff take care large room morning or afternoon satellite tv only criticism spent days here feel free stayed longer three days
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

It was my first visit to a naturist resort so I actually don't have any thing to compare it with... But the resort was very well maintained and beautiful. I loved the pool especially during night time. Restaurant was nice and people were quite friendly. It's a nice place to stay but there is absolutely nothing nearby the resort apart from some villages and few shops that too were quite far...So overall it's a very calm and quiet place where you can just stay and relax...

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 66ritikag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Randu, Owner at Bali au Naturel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thanks for your review. Indeed it is a bit remote, but so are the other nearby resorts in Northern Bali, and therefore ideal for nudism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Good resort, great staff, good food. Bit away from the city. Good place to experience nudism. Please understand that there is a 10% surcharge + tax that goes for charity for every service food that you take. The owner was very polite and nice. They agreed to arrange for a taxi to Kuta for us. The driver was very great. Will surely visit again. Thanks for everything.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sudhirComics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Randu, Owner at Bali au Naturel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thanks for your review. Please note that the 10% tax applies to all tourist business and is imposed by the government, like in most other countries, but in Bali that money is used to help less developed communities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at this facility, but three days is sufficent. We stayed in a so called deluxe room...far from what i would consider deluxe for the cost paid. The shower recess was severly degraded and unsafe to walk on, there was also a distinct odour of the sewer coming back up the shower drain whilst in use.
The pools in the facility are maintained in an hygenic state however the spa on the large pool didnt not work. There are a number of water features and ponds that are in decline and if repaired and functional would add value the ambience of the facility.
The grounds whilst lush really do require the attention of a gardner. Mocks Kitchen is the only food facility onsite, whilst the menu covers the basic it dosent excite, and by day three i would consider it rather bland.
The room did have a mini bar fridge and i do mean a mini fridge, the cost of a small can of soft drink was $2.50 Aus, expensive even by Bali standards.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickb226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Randu, Owner at Bali au Naturel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thanks for your review

Indeed, 3 days of staying in the resort could be sufficient, many regular guests who just want to relax stay up to 4 weeks. 3 days is also not sufficient to visit the nearby many non-touristic temples, hot water springs, royal palace, waterfalls and volcano lakes. Nearby highlights can be seen on www.unseenbalitours.com.

This is the first complain about the showers and the odour and we will look into it. The spa works, but only when air conditioners are switched off. We request the guests that they don't leave the ACs on all day, so that there is enough voltage to make the spa run

There are three fishponds, all fully functional, although one may look a bit "dirty" (more green water to accommodate the type of fish in it which don't like very clean water).

The garden is I believe very well attended - there are four permanent full-time gardeners.

The menu in Mock's Kitchen is quite varied - see www.mockskitchen.com. See other reviews. The 25,000 IDR or 2.5 AUD for a soft drink is the minimum price in every resort in Bali, some places are more expensive.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very relaxing. Lounging by the pool and speaking with other guests in a non judgemental environment. The food was very reasonably priced and was tasty. Our room was comfortable and I really enjoyed the outdoor bathroom.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Randu, Owner at Bali au Naturel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thanks for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed the tasty food at reasonable price and the outdour bathroom.

Hope to see coming again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

It took 3 hours from the airport ( I arranged transfers through them at $80 each way), to arrive late (approx. 9.30pm) they did keep the restaurant (limited as it was) open for us. Unfortunately we didn't pay attention to the pricing as we were shocked that we could not get cocktails! One type of beer and about four choices of spirits or some wine. Turns out a drink costs more than in Australia! Meal was pretty basic too and not cheap. (cost us $95 AU!) The 'included' breakfast was minimal and basic.

We took a chance as we wanted to experience the 'naturalist' (clothing free) experience. We wasted our money (we had paid for another 3 nights) in a bangalow, no air-conditioning. We tried to upgrade but apparently nothing was available. I doubt there is much difference anyway as another guest showed us her villa to compare. Very disappointing as I believe this is the only type of resort like this in Bali.
This type of resort has so much potential. The grounds also need to be developed and provide more than one pillow per person (one of the pillow slips had a blood stain on it!), There should be a bar & food service. Maybe artwork of the female form might be nice to see and not just males artwork. The resort says it's not just for guy men, but how about adding female, mix couple artwork....
So six hours, 3 nights accommodation wasted.... a long drive back to stay in Seminyak

Room tip: Don't bother with the bungalows unless you want VERY basic
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonOZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Randu, Owner at Bali au Naturel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Sharon,

Let's get it straight :

All hotels and resorts in Northern Bali are between 3 to 5 hours from the airport. We are at 2.5 hours during day light, a bit more at night as we have to drive slowly. That is a geographical fact. The fare is 60 US$ for a 100 km drive through the mountains and rice fields of Bali

The restaurant has an extensive menu with Balinese, Indonesian, Asian, Italian, Western and vegetarian food. You can check the menu (and the prices) on www.mockskitchen.com. The most expensive dish (imported beef filet or grilled seafood is less than 15 AUD. The cheapest dishes start at less than 5 AUD. We have nothing at the price of 95 AUD

Imported alcohol is indeed very expensive due to import taxes, a local beer sells in the restaurant for under 3 AUD. This is a restaurant, not a supermarket. And we are not a cocktail bar either. The restaurant is open from 7.30 AM till 10 PM, room service is provided. The Pool bar is open 24/7

Breakfast has a wide range of eggs any style, pancakes, fried rice or noodles and the usual orange juice, cheese, jams, spreading chocolate, honey, fresh fruits etc

It is clear from the website through which you booked that the rather cheap bungalows have no air conditioning, so this should not come as surprise. All rooms with AC were indeed fully booked. As the villas come at a higher price, they also come with additional facilities

All guests take many pictures of the 15,000 sq mtr botanical gardens, which have all the plants and flowers of whatever grows in Bali at sea level. Extra pillows are available upon request and all bed sheets are laundered every 3 days and after every guest checks out.

The artwork we have is local Balinese art work

I regret that you did not enjoy Bali au Naturel as all the other guests. But I suggest to read the other reviews.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews