We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and surrender!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaia Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaia Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax and surrender!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Gaia retreat ... what a wonderful experience I had. From the time I was welcomed to the time I was farewelled, the people make Gaia the experience it is. The Day Spa treatments could just be a treatment if it weren't for the people who make it a personal experience. The food is fantastic, the yoga is inspiring and the exercise is challenging and rewarding. I thank all of you who I was priviliged enough to meet at Gaia who made my stay such a personal experience

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    17
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
70
171
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have just returned from my second visit to Gaia, and there will definately be more! Gaia is the perfect place to escape from the world. It is located in the most spectacular location, which in itself is medicine for the soul. Gaia is a beautiful, tranquil health retreat. The food is absolutely delicious, at the same time being very healthy. I was never once hungry between meals. The portions were more than adequate. The yoga classes were great, not to mention the view from the yoga room! I do a regular advanced yoga practice, and I still found the yoga at Gaia to be challenging and a fantastic way to start the day. The daily routine at Gaia is very relaxed, with not many set activities, which i really liked, as there is plenty of time to spend in the beautiful spa, reading a book by the pool, sitting in the outside sauna or snacking at the sumptuous snack table which has the most impressive array of herbal teas and healthy snacks. The staff at Gaia are so friendly and hospitable, it really feels as if you are a guest in their home. So, in summary, a visit to Gaia is essential if you are after a short break from the world, where you can really relax and come away feeling totally rejuvenated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSilv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Gaia Retreat Spa gave my mind body and soul a refreshing, beautiful inner peace experience that i was able to give myself a gift to rest, play and eat 5 star healthy foods.
At Gaia there is no tight schedule only when to be gently reminded to attend breakfast , lunch, dinner and be pampered or attend their many activities eg: working with clay, nature walks , tai chi, meditation and so on. Overwhelming with exceptional customer service and like minded people who want the warmth of a well organised Retreat Spa.
I experienced a 3 night package and would return to complete a journey of health and well being. Mwhaw..xxx Vicki.....

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can and rest up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I spent 3 nights at Gaia and the difference it made to my mindset and ability to persevere through a challenging period was invaluable. It is the perfect pick-me-up / recharge. I arrived at Gaia as a stress-head and left feeling very 'zen'.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My trip followed a recommendation from a friend so my expectations were high - and were definately met. From the moment I was picked up at the airport, I was made to feel welcome. Just walking into Kukura House felt like having the weight of the world lifted from my shoulders and the whole experience (5 day package) was full of serenity and tranquility. The food was superb and I've developed a new love for quinoa which, thankfully, is easy to cook and available at the local supermarket. The day spa was delightful and my day 1 massage with Kyle was the best I've ever had (and I've had a lot of massages over the years). All the staff from the moment I booked were warm and kind and had this innate ability to tell when you wanted to be alone and when you wanted to talk. After 18 months without a break, my 5 days at Gaia has left me feeling refreshed and energised. I'm already planning when I could go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chr2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklet
3.9 km away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
10.9 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
14.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
10.5 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.6 km away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 32 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Property: Gaia Retreat & Spa
Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaia Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing