We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
251
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds new zealand degustation menu hawkes bay dining experience main building boutique hotel beautiful hotel sir james new chef wine list separate lounge area old trees nice change understated luxury
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

My husband surprised me on my birthday and we went down here for a fabulous 5 course dinner. The food and customer service was absolutely amazing! They have the best food I’ve ever tasted in NZ. The dessert that we had is to die for. The chef and the duty manager was very good on what they are doing. We even had a mini tour/ history lesson of the hotel! Kudos to the duty manager, very hospitable and accomodating. I just forgot his name. The red wine is what I like most during the wine tasting. Highly recommended to those who are looking for a top of the class services. Will definitely go back here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yuanns2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed only one night but wished we had stayed longer. Our room looked newly renovated in a boutique hotel built late 1800s. So much history in the house. Our Room was very clean, stylish, with magnificent furniture and fabrics. Bed very comfortable. Outlooks over manicured gardens close to wineries. Breakfast was first class. Dinner amazing. Already planning to go back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mardi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Stunning in every way. If you stay make sure you enjoy the wine matched tasting menu - it might be the best meal I've ever eaten! I don't write reviews very often - I couldn't not write about Mangapapa.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Matt,

We are so pleased we compelled you to write a review for us. What a compliment! That gives the team such a sense of achievement, in doing what we set out to do everyday, ensure the guest has the best possible Mangapapa experience. I have shared your review with our team and they were so happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Great Place to be. Very helpfluss staff, fantastic evening meals, homemade bread, if you like winepairing to the diner. We enjoyed every moment there. During diner (and breakfast) you have a nice view to the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MPRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear MPRichter,

Thank you so much for your five star review. We agree, Mangapapa really is a great place to be and it's a pleasure to share it with such wonderful guests. Glad to see you enjoyed the restaurant and our service. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

The best accommodation in NZ. The entire staff is a 10+. The Suite was “sweet”. It is very spacious with a wonderful bathroom, very effective and quiet A/C+heating unit, excellent bed, good selection of pillows and Netflix on the TV is a great bonus feature. Dining is outstanding (10+), breakfast is a best breakfast in all of NZ including a barista’s selection of specialty coffees, tea and juice, fruit, warm croissants, a selection of cheeses, prosciutto, salami and ham. Then a hot selection including French toast, eggs benedict and hot mushrooms in cream. All totally delicious. The a la carte dinner is fantastic, and the chef’s menu is even better. WiFi is solid. Nice clean spa, gym, hot tub and pool.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank x55y55z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Wow! We are blown away by your fantastic review. We pay great attention to detail and we can see you do too. It's wonderful to be appreciated so thank you for your review. We hope to see you again the future.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews