We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
49
26
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
26
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath stayed here great location village centre top floor local gym up market easy walk busy road walking distance large room great place to stay free wifi hawkes bay shower motel host
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I have tried 3 motels in Havelock North and this is the best of them. Clean and fresh. Large rooms with huge spa bath. King size bed a bonus. Good little extras on arrival and coffee in reception. Tom and Esther try hard to make the stay enjoyable. Easy walk to all the cafes. takeaways and restaurants. Supermarket 2 minutes away as is the local gym. ‍♂️

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank R298YWpetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESeymour50, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, glad we can make the stay away from home as pleasant as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

One of the better places with ever stayed in the Hawkes Bay. It's up market beautiful furnishings and affordable family accommodation. On a main road but can't hear inside the rooms, brilliant. We had breakfast in our room this morning very good price arrived on time friendly service yummy food. Very welcoming when we arrived, excellent check in with free coffee and lobby. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank maggieb690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We were fortunate to get tickets to see the fabulous Freddy's at the amazing Black Barn arena.
Te Mata Lodge is walking distance from the venue, so it was the perfect location for us. It was fully booked by the time we got there, no doubt due to the concert and great weather.
We were one couple in a 2 bed-roomed unit for 2 nights. Reception was very friendly, the unit was clean and tidy. A spa bath we didn't get to use, and free WIFI. Everything in the room was as expected.
The only down side is the sound-proofing between the unit upstairs and the one we were in. There didn't appear to be any, as we heard the person come home at 3.30am, stomp around until they found the bed and remarkably get up again 3 hours later. You could argue this is out of the control of the lodge, only the fact that we could hear everything including the level of intoxication from the weaving pattern of steps makes you think there might be more that could be done to dampen the sound. We would definitely return but would stay in either a top-floor or single storey unit.

Room tip: Recommend a unit either single-storey or above another unit
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

I stayed here for 3 nights visiting colleagues. The welcome was friendly and personal, being shown to the room which was large, very clean and even got a fresh milk for my tea/coffee. My room had well appointed kitchenette, Jacuzzi bath in the room and large separate bathroom. The TV was a large flat screen with a large selection of satellite channels (should you require). Located a few metres from the centre of town - so very convenient.
I was able to do some washing in the laundry on-site which was easy and convenient.

Only (small) negative: my room was one of two close to the road - and there was some traffic noise, but not so much as to detract/

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESeymour50, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

thanks for your recent stay and so glad you enjoyed yourself. Our central location is certainly a bonus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

You will know I booked the right place the moment you check in ✅
Bonus is the complimentary beverage. So good on a really warm day
We have used this place for business visits a number of times now so they deserve this very positive review now. Proven!
So good for tourists as well - observed.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GRL1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESeymour50, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

thanks for your recent review, glad you enjoy staying with us, and like our special corporate extras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews