We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The George at Wath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George at Wath
Ranked #1 of 1 Wath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband & I stayed one Friday night mid November, on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal we saw online and loved it. Being regulars at the sister guest house The poplars in Thirsk, we felt this was a nice change of location for us to try.
The George is situated in the small, quiet North Yorkshire village of Wath approx 5 miles from Ripon. There isn't much in the village itself aside from the inn, a lovely old church and houses, all surrounded by beautiful countryside, so the place is quiet .We had one of the suites to the front of the building which was large, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The en suite bathroom incorporated a bath with an overhead shower and was also a lovely large space. I had wondered if we might be disturbed by noise at closing time as it is also an inn but it was wonderfully quite. Parking is to the rear of the building and there is also a beer garden but we didn't take a look at that given how cold it was outside. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the meal was wonderful. We ate in the dining room from the al a carte menu, but there is also a decent bar menu which included old favourites such as steak and ale pie and fish and chips, and the food we saw people eating in the bar area looked very good.
I had steak which was cooked to perfection, and my husband had monk fish which he thoroughly enjoyed. We both opted for a chocolate torte for dessert..delicious.
Breakfast was also served in the dining room. You helped yourself from a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and fruit juice and ordered from a menu a cooked breakfast which was cooked to order and served with either tea or coffee and fresh toast. Breakfast was beautiful and set us up for the day.
We both enjoyed the stay and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The York Suite was a lovely large size at the front left hand side of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numptieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    29
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
85
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This inn had a recent review in the Yorkshire Post, my wife and i tried it for sunday lunch, every course was superbly presented and equally delicious, the staff were very obliging and helpful, we do tend to dine out quite a lot and there are many excellent eating venues in this part of North Yorkshire, and this one is up there with the best of them, with i might add as a bonus the food is remarkable value, something you don't expect with this quality, it was a little quiet which suprised me, i hope this review might help.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We live in Ripon and had never been to the George before. We went for tea on a Friday night. Upon arrival, the staff were really friendly and served us drinks at a table in the bar. We also ordered food here. Its a well decorated, clean and welcoming bar. Once the food was nearly ready, we were taken to the dining room which is finished to a high standard and although cosy, has a great atmosphere with other tables in the room.

We were given appetisers, which were an unexpected treat. The food came and was so much more than we expected. Its top class food and reasonably priced. worth every penny.

Again, the staff were helpful and friendly and we will certainly be going back!

Room Tip: We just went for tea so cant comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The George at Wath proved to be an excellent choice for a 3 day break in the Yorkshire countryside. We stayed Sunday to Tuesday and managed to fit in a wonderful Sunday lunch too. Our ensuite room was cozy, clean and comfortable.The hotel was quiet so we were able to enjoy a good sleep each night.
The food was truly delicious , cooked and presented to a very high standard. The chef is exceptional. The menus are varied and offer a marvelous choice of locally sourced foods. Meals are served in the restaurant or in the bar, which has an excellent range of good local beers. The wine list is very good too.
The location of the hotel in the village of Wath near Ripon, provides an opportunity to visit various local attractions such as Fountains Abbey(world heritage site), the glorious Yorkshire dales and Harrogate and Leeds , a little further away.
There is a very useful car park at the rear of the hotel and a beer garden too.
We have just returned home but are already talking of going back again.. .

Room Tip: The rooms are named after local towns.We stayed in Thirsk, which is located on the first floor. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A really nice small pub/hotel in a very quiet village, with good accommodation and an excellent restaurant, all of the staff friendly and happy to help out whenever required. Yes, would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Pets allowed in some rooms only, but the management happy to arrange accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wath
6.0 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
11.5 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
6.1 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
797 reviews
7.8 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
3.7 km away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Wath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Wath

Property: The George at Wath
Address: Main Street, Wath, Ripon HG4 5EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Wath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Wath 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The George at Wath, we are now serving quality local cask ales a selection of fine wines served by the glass, our restaurant is focused on providing Fresh, Local, Seasonal produce under the supervision of our Head Chef, Harrison Barraclough. We pride ourselves on the quality of product we offer. We have five luxurious well appointed en-suite rooms and a function room for special occasions, weddings, business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The George at Wath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Wath Hotel Wath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing