We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yukon Wildlife Preserve”

Yukon Wildlife Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.84*
and up
Arctic Day: Yukon Wildlife and Hot Springs Tour
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Yukon Wildlife Preserve is a unique wildlife viewing property featuring 12+ species of northern Canadian mammals in their natural environment. Encompassing over 700 acres with various natural habitats, the Yukon Wildlife Preserve offers unparalleled wildlife viewing and photo opportunities. Wildlife species are spread out around a 5km loop suitable for walking, biking and skiing (in winter). During the summer months, daily 1 1/2 hour bus tours leave at 10am, 12noon, 2pm and 4pm. In the winter months bus tours leave at 12noon and 2pm, Friday - Sunday.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yukon Wildlife Preserve”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Arctic foxes were lovely and cute. I had no idea that they had such blazing golden eyes! We saw bison, big-horned sheep, caribou, yak and lynx.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    161
    30
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to visit - so much to see!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

What a lovely place - I lived in Whitehorse for 4 years before visiting and I have been twice now. There is such a variety of animals to see and they are all treated very well and are very well kept. The people are friendly, the price is right, and the staff are very knowledgeable. You can go anytime during the year and you can walk, take the shuttle, or even cross country ski around the area. A must see for tourists and residents alike!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kerian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEHORSE
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“get an annual membership”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

You might as well by an annual membership as it costs about the same as a single visit and you get so much more. We receive regular email updates about events that take place at the wildlife preserve and pop in several times a year for the guided tour on the bus. The people that work there are great. Every time we go we experience something a little different. I've learned so much about Yukon Wildlife and feel good about contributing to a great cause. Be sure to stop by Bean North for a great coffee and/or Takhini Hotsprings for a little dip when you are out this way.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The guide on the bus was really good. Good selection of animals like arctic fox, bighorn sheep, lynx, caribou, musk ox, wood bison, etc.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank annahummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Take the guided tour -- the guide is friendly and knowledgeable, and you'll see things you may miss if you do the self-guided walking tour. All fees go to support the Preserve, so this is a must-do in the Yukon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yukon Wildlife Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Yukon Wildlife Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing