We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise just outside of Quebec City”
Review of Montmorency Forest

Montmorency Forest
Ranked #72 of 187 things to do in Quebec City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest teaching and research forest in the world, totalling 412 km2, opens its doors to you! Take part in various outdoor activities or take advantage of our facilities for a stay overnight or for meetings!
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I visited this beautiful forest as a university student over 20 years ago and I promised myself I would return. I was taking a hydrometeorology class and we visited in February to study snow and ice. The trip we did this year was in summer and it is even more beautiful. We stayed in a cabin overlooking "LaChute" in a cabin of the same name. This is exactly where I promised I would come back to. It is an isolated cabin (although you can get to it by car) that you can rent. The university provides keys to the gates that block other vehicles and of course keys to the cabin. The only other way to get to the cabin is by hiking or snowshoeing. The cabin is rustic, but has propane for cooking and has a wood stove for heating. You must provide your own water. We had a purification pump and we used the river above the falls to collect water to boil for cleaning. It is a minute walk to the river. We did the odd bathing there, but the water is so cold, you can't stay I for long. There is an outhouse that is clean located just behind the cabin. The cabin is supposed to be able to accommodate eight people, but I think it would be tight for more than five. It would be great for a family. There are two hikes accessible directly from the cabin, but you can access all of them by taking trail D that goes towards the office. Trail D was nasty from our cabin. There were patches of mud that were so big, it made off trail trekking very difficult. Some of the mud patches had streams running right through them. If you do decide to stay in the summer, the roads throughout the site are more like logging roads. They are rough with lots of large rocks and pot holes. The hiking that is available from the office is ecologically diverse. A great spot to take young students or have a family outing. There are geocaches that are accessible all year long if you are interested in caching. The natural environment here is gorgeous - beyond what I had remembered as a student. This little paradise is located just less than an hour north of Quebec City. We were greeted at the office when we arrived by a very nice lady who provided everything that we needed to know. The website is lacking information on the cabins/accommodations, so if anyone has questions, I might be able to answer them for you. Please visit this site. It is an exemplary natural environment if you love the outdoors and nature. Oh, please leave it the way you found it...

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMontmorency2015, Coordonnatrice des opérations récréatives at Montmorency Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again on our trails! Our We constantly add information on the Website and for more information, please call at 418-656-2034. We hope to see you again on our trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Worth the commute to get there! By the way, it's accessible by public transportation: take the bus number 800 right on the right side of the Gare du Palais (train station) and stay in the bus till its final stop (about 15-20 minutes away from downtown). If you're not sure about the stop, ask the driver. The fare of the bus is CAD3.25/person (price in Oct/2015) and it only accepts exact change.
Once you get off the bus, look for an iron fence, without any sign!! That's where you shall go to see great landscapes!

2  Thank Nina_Novelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMontmorency2015, Coordonnatrice des opérations récréatives at Montmorency Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello, thank you for your comments. Please call at 418-656-2034 to get information for transportation to get here.
We hope to see you again on our trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

When I visited this place, I had no idea what to expect. What I experienced was a really cool forest with opportunities for both hiking and snowshoeing without having to pay lots of money or crowding with lots of people. You pay a small fee to get access to the tracks, you can choose between long and short trips. It is also relatively cheap to hire snowshoes. Their collaboration with the University of Laval makes the experience even cooler and they will gladly tell you about it if you just ask them.

Thank Kerstin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMontmorency2015, Coordonnatrice des opérations récréatives at Montmorency Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again on our trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited Foret Montmorency February '14 to make some snowshoeing. There is a mountain hostel run by University Laval, where we had rent snow shoes for a reasonable price (it is cheaper than in other similar venues in the neighbourhood). We did 1,5 hour trip around the nearby lake. We got a map of the terrain and were explained which path we could take with the weather conditions on that time. The trip was very beautiful, there were not many people in the forest, we met maybe 10 people. The paths are well labeled. There are some beauty spots. A beautiful trip. (The cantine at the hostel was closing at 1 pm, so be prepared if you come late. What is more, the food at the cantine was very simple and not really tasty.)

3  Thank offelia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMontmorency2015, Coordonnatrice des opérations récréatives at Montmorency Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again on our trails! Please check Website for new services in 2018 and opening hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMontmorency2015, Responsable relations publiques at Montmorency Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montmorency Forest also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Montmorency Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing