We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet, spacious taste of an elegant era”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet, spacious taste of an elegant era”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Owned and run by a fun young husband-wife team, Manoir d’Auteuil is a fantasy slice from a by-gone era – a boutique hotel in a grand old 1870s era mansion, across a park from the Assemble Nationale (provincial parliament buildings). Most of the rooms retain original fixtures from a 1930s remodelling in the Art Deco style. My parents stayed in the largest suite, with marvellous wood panelling and capacious seating area. I was in the suite that Edith Piaf favoured when she performed in Quebec City. The marvellous bathroom alone – floor and all 4 walls tiled in a shade of deep blue tiles that hasn’t been seen in 80 years – is bigger than a half million dollar condo in choice neighbourhoods of Manhattan or Toronto. Buffet breakfast is simple but delicious: fruit salad, yogurt, various artisan breads and seriously flaky Quebec croissants. It’s a short 2 block walk to the lively bar and restaurant scene on St. Jean Street. But the area around the hotel was very quiet at night. Not a sound but the last horse-drawn carriage, clippy-clopping slowly over the cobblestones. It felt like I was dozing off in a guest room at Downton Abbey, after the Christmas Hunt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museum-a-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay. You stayed in our executive suite, named after architect Omer Marchand and our junior suite in which Edith Piaf used to stay. They are lovely, spacious rooms, and by all means, worth the additional expense. These master bedrooms retain their historical ambiance and grandeur, even today. Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    184
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
137
787
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to stay in good friendly place that is very comfortable and reasonably priced.

I have stayed in quite a number of hotels in North America and this was up there with the best.

The Staff are very helpful and friendly, cannot do enough to help, but not overbearing.

The hotel captures the character of Quebec City and is in a perfect location

just a short stroll away from everything

I also had some interesting coversations some of the other guests and if I ever get back to Quebec City, which is a truly fascinating place with a very interesting history, especially for anyone from Ireland

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am particularly delighted that you found the historical elements of the building and Quebec City so interesting. You did travel during the low season, which is a great time to visit Quebec City, as rates are very reasonable during this time of year. Again, thank you for your kind comments and it was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel is located in the Upper town area of Vieux Quebec (Old Quebec City). It's within the walls of Old town, but on the edge (the last street before the wall), so it's about equidistant from the rest of Old town and the Parliament area. It's a charming hotel with cute rooms...our room was on the top floor, so we had a slant in our ceiling, which added character to the room. The rooms are a good size and very clean.

However, there were a few drawbacks. There are no elevators, so we had to carry our luggage 4 floors (the receptionist was kind enough to help us with our bags)...but it seems all of the older buildings in Old town don't have elevators. The other problem was that the walls are paper thin. Our bed was right next to the door, so we could hear everyone in the hallway. We could also hear people talking in the next room. I was not able to get a good nights' sleep that night. Also, the parking lot for the hotel only has a few spots (I think 4), so you have to park down the street and around the corner and still pay the same amount ($17).

We paid $130 for the hotel, which was a pretty good deal for the location/quality of the hotel, but I was frustrated that I didn't have a better sleep experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So much of sleep quality in any hotel will inevitably depend on other clients in the hotel. We are normally a very quiet hotel, and I am sorry that other clients returning so late to their rooms were making so much noise in the hallways. This room is a european room, and because there are only 4 rooms on this floor, and because they are high up, they are normally quite quiet and immune to the sounds of the hustle and bustle within the old city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. We were a large group traveling together. The hostess went out her way to make sure everything was going smoothly. We had booked a queen bed with a pullout sofa. They brought in another regular bed to the room, instead of the sofa so that we could have a more comfortable stay. There is no elevator, but they will help you with your bags so it's not a problem. The breakfast was great. They constantly replenished items that were low. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have issues climbing stairs make sure to call ahead and request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwrld2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments regarding the stairs. As always, due to historic preservation, we do not have an elevator. We are always available to help anyone with their bags, and please call and speak with someone directly if you have a special request due to stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was a touch worried after reading all the reviews about the size of the European rooms on the fourth floor. We were in room 41 and I was pleasantly suprised by the roominess. It was perfect for us. It was exactly what we wanted and needed with the Carnival sight about a 3 minute walk away. The staff was very friendly and we very much appreciated that. I also enjoyed the continental breakfast - the croissants were sooooo good:) With rates soaring during Carnival the European was very good value for money. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to place a review. Given that the house was originally built in 1835, all rooms vary in size. The european rooms are smaller, with slanted ceilings and a dormer window, but have all of the amenities needed to enjoy your stay. Prices in Quebec City soar during the high season, which includes carnaval, and it is not always easy to find something under $200.00 per night with such a perfect location. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes, I love the croissants too......they are delicious and baked fresh daily by our favorite bakery just down the street: Paillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,259 reviews
1.2 km away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,548 reviews
0.4 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing