We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge La Chouette
Nearby Hotels
L'Hotel Port-Royal(Quebec City)
US$245
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$250
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Cofortel(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$1,128
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sainte-Anne(Quebec City)
US$217
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Saint-Paul(Quebec City)
US$161
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ALT Quebec(Quebec City)
US$178
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$524
US$443
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
28
49
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
49
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorthai vietnameseice palaceshort walking distanceyogurtperfect locationold quebec cityclean roomsrestaurant downstairsprivate bathroomstayed here for two nightsfirst floorhot waterparliament buildingwinter carnivalgrand alleeplains of abraham
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

clean and comfortable boutique hotel. small room but comfortable bed, things in good repair. be prepared to walk up stairs. and that goes for old quebec city in general as it is very steep and hilly.
people here were nice and we only stayed one night so was limited and fine. a light continental breakfast was included. would go back. also is a somewhat pricey Thai restaurant here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank burooxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Three words to describe this place:
Location, cleanliness, price

Even on my google searches before the trip, I had no idea how perfectly located this hotel was. Right in front of the fortifications, 500m from Chateau Frontenac, walking distance to St. Jean street (where the best pubs and restaurants are located).
It was walking distance from absolutely all major attractions in old Quebec city.

Room was a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. And the price was great. Although the booking websites mention that breakfast is not included, a small, but very good, breakfast is served for free every day. Coffee, juice, fruits and toast.
Staff is friendly and communicated very well in English.

Quebec city is lovely, and Aubergue Le Chouette is the best affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaGVieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This hotel is very good in terms of cleanliness and location. It is right at the wall of the Old city so great for walking around, yet a little out of the hustle and bustle. The room was clean, although we had a "view" of an inner area that housed the air conditioning and other equipment. The room was large with 2 queen size beds and room to move around. The bathroom was also very large and clean. The wifi was not strong in the room and I had to go downstairs near the check-in desk to connect. Also there were stairs to get to our room, so that might be a problem if you have mobility issues. There was a decent basic continental breakfast included and parking ($15/day) was close-by; however, we almost got stuck in our spot b/c the cars around us didnt make it easy for us to get around them to leave. Back your car into the spot and park near the exit if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank globalbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is a family business now being run by the 2nd and 3rd generation. The well-maintained 1845 house is most impressive. Our room was in the attic: three flights up the somewhat slippery spiral staircase. This room is best for the sure-footed! We loved the room. It was really big and elegant. Breakfast is included if you stay more than two nights. It was a treat: delicate glasses of yogurt and granola and house-made muffins. It's not self-serve though, so expect to spend time being waited on.
The location of the hotel is excellent. Chateau Frontenac is a few blocks away in one direction and Grand Allee (outside the wall) is a few blocks away in the other direction.
The hospitality was most touching: You're hot? Here are bottles of water; you're tired? Here's a cup of tea. You're going to miss breakfast? Here's a bag of bars, fruit and home-made divinity. It's raining? Here are umbrellas.
We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

What a wonderful find. Perfectly located steps from the Citadel and minutes walk from Place d'Armes and the magical lower town. The owners were gracious hosts, eager to accommodate. Plus, it has an upscale Thai/Vietnamese associated with the hotel. I highly recommend a stay at La Chouette.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor, easy in - easy out.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews