We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #84 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have stayed in four with two rooms there for just one night last july, 2011. They have large rooms with large beds, breakfast, excelent indoor pool with sauna. If you have a car it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Good day,

We thank you for the time you took to share your comments about your recent stay in our hotel.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the services met your expectations: the pool area is a must and people always enjoy the time spent in the atrium to relax.

In hoping to see you again in our hotel soon,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    110
    111
    55
    53
See reviews for
131
112
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Renovated hotel with excellent Greek restaurant. ONLY downside is that getting to the elevators you walk via the pool area which is very nice but very hot and humid. Chlorine smell on the first floor. Nice location near shopping. Opportunity to sit at umbrella-ed tables outside. Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor to avoid smell of pool chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolestgrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Good day,

We thank for taking the tim to write a comment about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all the comments we get, it gives us the opportunity to improve our services.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the services met your expectations. Even if the smell was strong, we hope youe enjoyed your time in pool and nordic spa area.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Ticks all the boxes: friendly, clean, tidy. BUT... the El Greco Restaurant! We decided to dine in. Asked to see the wine list and what followed was a scene out of Prohibition Era: "we don't sell wine sir, you can bring your own."
First day in Canada: "So where can we buy some? Is there a bar:
"No the bar is closed, you can buy some at reception"
Whispered tone to reception "I believe you sell wine"
She got the key and opened the cupboard behind the desk. (okay, I might be making up the bit about the key)
I chose the $20 one: "That'll be $25.01 with tax. First day in Canada so no small change. $20 notes and $5 notes. Offered $25: "Sorry sir, we need another cent". Offered $40: "Sorry sir we don't have change"
Paid by credit card. Weird or what?
(nice hotel though - will dine out on this story for ages)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Good day,

We thank you for your comments about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate that your took the time to write them.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that that room met your needs and expectations. We take good notes about all the things your wrote about the hotel restaurant, and we will everything we can in order to fix these things, because they are all important.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel soon

Thand you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I organized a nice short trip with my 5-years old daughter and friends to see the whales in Tadoussac/Baie-Ste-Catherine over the weekend. We slept 2 nights in this hotel. Unfortunately, the standard room we occupied had bedbugs!!!! We got back home on Sunday night, and I realized the problem on Monday morning. After the exterminator came over, I called the hotel for informing about the "problem" - they have not called me back yet ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beluga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Good day,

We thank for taking your time writing comments about your stay in our hotel.

We have made all the tests and verifications in the room you were in and there were no bedbugs in the room on Monday. We checked the mattress, the sheets and the pillows and no bedbugs were found. The person who checked has a good training and would have seen them if their were some.

We are sorry for the inconvience you had back home, but it does not come from our hotel.

In hoping to see you again in our hotel,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

After a weekend of mediocre hotels, we decided to splurge and get a decent hotel somewhere wherewe can experience something different... The Info centre refered us here, called the hotel, and told us the parking, internet, and breakfast was free and had plenty of nice rooms still available

Upon arrival we decided to get a poolside "balcony" room with two queen beds for $249... a bit steep for a non-suite room at this star rating... but we wanted to spare no expense for the best experience we could ge there, the only thing different from the rate we were quoted was that the breakfast was no included (unfortunant but we decided to ignore this little issue).

When we first entered we were impressed on the size, the remodeled bathroom, and the nice beds. But we noticed the room wall was bare, the design of the bath was actually bad (faucets hit the base of tub and water ran on the floor), there was no fridge (we had to pay an extra $10 for one per night) and the worst part... we did NOT have a balcony (only a walkout to the pool/spa area).

Im sorry but when you pay $249 for a balconied room, you would expect a balcony not an entrance straight in the pool area (we even had someone knocking on our door looking for someone :( )... and having to pay another $10 for a fridge... in a $249 room... come on stop penny pinching give the guys paying the big bucks a fridge... even the Trump hotels I stayed at didnt try to gauge customers that way. People mentioned in the reviews that they got robes... well our $249 rooms did not :(... dont know why some people who paid $99 for a room got them but not us but... anyways

On the plus side... we really like the pool/spa, the beds were comfortable, rooms are really clean, service was fine. The experience was great.... its still a good place to go experience something different... The only thing is I would not recommend taking anything but their cheapest rooms... just not worth it (hence my ranking on value)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Good day,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience in our hotel. With all the details you gave, we will be able to make the room check and make some changes in the room the improve the guest's experience and to make is as perfect as possible.

It is very important for our team to have satisfied guests and we take very seriously all the comments shared. We are proud to know take your liked the room, that the beds were comfortable and enjoyed the pool and spa area

We hope your will come back to experience all our services and and take a relaxing moment in Quebec City.

We thank you again for your comments

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.3 km away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Property: Hotel Universel Quebec
Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing