We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone to the Dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City
Ranked #90 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone to the Dogs”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in all of Canada.
From the paint pealing from there 10 story building to Fleas in the room Dogs barking all around me in other rooms, What possesses people to bring there damn dogs with them when traveling anyway mine stays at Doggie Dude Ranch, Prescott, AZ.
No laundry, no free breakfast, Pay for Play business center, Total Bu!! $h!t.

If you want it you will Pay big time here, Skip this dump.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChauvinEmmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Hotel.Needless to say I was disspointed that we have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay and most importantly that we did not have the chance to meet you to rectified what has been percieved by you as negative points. As being a pet friendly hotel we have a designated section where we accept dogs which is on the first floor to ensure dogs are close to an exit. All of these rooms have extra care with cleaning, after all 1 housing out of three in america owned a furry companion. As for the other amenities that you were looking for we do have laundry machine available at the hotel as well as dry cleaning service, we also have a dining room that feature daily full hot and cold buffet. We also have free internet access internet in our business center and many more other amenities that can make your stay more enjoyable needlees to mentionned that we have 130 rooms specialy designed for business including leather executive desk chair , heated floor in the bath room, citiy view from the tower and more, If you happen to visit quebec again in the near future we would be happy to make you live the true expoerience our hotel has to offer.

Respectfully

Eric Normand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    110
    112
    74
    59
See reviews for
127
133
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I was at the hotel for business reasons. I was responsible for coordinating food for the vegans and vegetarians. To help the process, we submitted potential recipes well in advance. The hotel (eventually) got back to us agreeing to use the submitted recipes.

Upon arrival, it turned out that they had not prepared anything for breakfast (for ANYBODY, vegans or otherwise) so we needed to use the hotel restaurant's "stock" items. For me, this meant a breakfast consisting of a couple of strawberries and some "from concentrate" orange juice.

Later, we had lunch, and none of it even remotely resembled anything I had submitted. But, I trusted that a chef at a good hotel must know what they're doing so I ate it. Half an hour later, I'm quite sick. I talk to the chief (via a translator) and he says "oh yeah, the date square!" .. he AGAIN promises to use my recipes and says that for any meal where he doesn't, he'll provide me with all the ingredients so that I can be sure it's vegan.

lunch arrives.. it's a buffet.. and I've been given no ingredients, so I'm forced to go to a grocery store. Dinner arrives, no part of dinner has anything to do with any of my recipes. The main course is cous cous. I figure, they can't possibly screw up cous cous. I'm proven wrong, and sick for the second time, and it turns out they used butter.

For the remainder of my stay, I'm forced to make arrangements to eat offsite and try (and fail) to coordinate it with the conference events, since the hotel isn't close to anything at all.

The moral of the story is : if you're planning a conference here, don't trust anything the hotel tells you. They'll say whatever they feel like saying and then do whatever they would have done anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed here 2 nights and although a little bit out of the city, its easy to get in by the local bus. Room was fine and clean and the public areas ok although it could do with some brighter colours here and there.
Good breakfast but be aware that there is no restaurant for evening meals. There is however a good Asian fusion restaurant quite near and if you stay at the hotel you get a free cocktail!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYWATTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. I was pleased to acknowledge that you encounter a pleasant stay with us. I am glad that you have experience the bus transportation to go down town as it avoids expensive parking cost. I will share your comments with our front office staff as it is important to inform better our guest that there is many restaurants in the area at less than 10 minutes walk. Once again thank you and we are looking forward to serve you again
Sincerely
Eric Normand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Clarion. It is, however, a little remote, about a 20-minute drive to downtown Quebec City. The staff was particularly friendly and accommodating and the rate was lower than anything I saw on typical travel sites. Recommend this and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th floor - it was very quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your most recent stay a tour hotel. I was pleased to acknowledge that your enjoy your experience at our hotel and we are looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely

Eric Normand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Clarion Hotel is nice but the outside is dated.
The front desk staff are fantastic and always has a smile on there faces.
The Rooms have been renovated most of the top floors.
The location is set in a quiet area of Ste Foy,but 2 min from the highway and you can be in Old Quebec in 10-15 min easy!

After visiting some other hotels recently this hotel is good,but the price can come down a little , because they are not in the same class like the Westin Bristol class hotel. There price is almost the same as the higher class hotels, and that should not be.

Room Tip: Book the Top Floor Executive rooms quiet and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your most recent stay a tour hotel. I was pleased to acknowledge that you experience a good stay with us and most importantly that you encounter great response from our staff. We are looking forward to serve you again

Sincerely
Eric Normand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
318 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#72 of 102 in Quebec City
6 reviews
5.5 km away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
413 reviews
1.1 km away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 102 in Quebec City
123 reviews
7.2 km away
Quality Suites Quebec City
Quality Suites Quebec City
#89 of 102 in Quebec City
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City

Property: Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City
Address: 3125 Hochelaga Boulevard, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 2P9, Canada (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the doorstep of Quebec City, the Clarion Hotel in Quebec, offers the well-appointed accommodations and generous amenities that make your stay cozy and enjoyable. Our ideal location allows for quick and easy access to the region's highway network and puts you steps from the area's most celebrated Quebec attractions and the best shopping and Quebec dining destinations. There are so many things to do in Quebec - this is just another reason why we are preferred among Quebec City hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sainte Foy
Clarion Sainte Foy
Sainte Foy Clarion
Travelodge Hotel & Convention Center Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing