We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and Great Location”
Review of Chez Marie-Claire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Marie-Claire
Ranked #18 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and Great Location”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We found Anais to be a delightful hostess. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The location is great to walk to almost every attraction in the old city. We were there when Hurricane Irene dumped 5.5 inches of rain with 60-mph winds. We were very pleased to have the cozy living room to ride out the storm.

Room Tip: Very comfortable bed and new bathroom fixtures. New pillows would be my only requested upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shbTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
76
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TICONDEROGA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Located on Rue St. Ursule just inside the gates of the old city, you can walk anywhere either inside or outside the old city in a matter of minutes. However, you need to carefully consider your needs. Only a couple of rooms have a private bath and only one, I believe, had two queen-size beds and a balcony facing the street. Some rooms have air-conditioning and some don't, although Quebec, as a rule, is never overbearingly hot, and the windows and balcony provide cool evening air. We did experience some water coming under the balcony door in the middle of Tropical Storm Irene (probably a once-in-fifty years occurrence), but extra towels were provided to soak it up. The breakfasts are plentiful, although the cooked portion is fairly basic (French Toast, eggs according to your request, etc). We found good company around the table every morning with most people speaking English (Americans and Canadians). You can pay by personal check when you arrive if it has time to clear the bank before you leave. They do not take credit cards. However, the rates are reasonable given the location, accommodations and plentiful breakfast. The TV room on the second floor provided a way to keep up (in our case, with the progress of Irene). There is a fair amount of noise, including street noise and creaking floors, but we did not hear any conversations or other noise from the other rooms or TV room, and we slept reasonably well. The parking out back, some of it under cover, is included in the room price. The two girls who provide the breakfast are very friendly and helpful, although only one speaks passable English. The owner, who does speak English, works down the street at #66. There is no elevator, and most of the rooms are on the third floor, so be prepared to carry your luggage up two flights or stairs.

We would definitely stay here again, and, in fact, are thinking about returning in the winter for the winter carnival.

Room Tip: Make sure they understand the type of beds and air conditioning you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbarney1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July during the summer festival. Location is perfect within the walls and close to all restautrants and sights. The room on the second floor with two double beds was spacious with a private bath and balcony. There is no TV or A/C in the room and it did get uncomfortable during afternoons and night with the july heat. There was no iron either but we got one right away on request. The place seems to be run by owner of Chez Marie Claire but two young girls take turns to manage the b&b - Anais and Anabelle. Breakfast is nothing great - one item each day - waffles felt like pancakes and no taste, plain egg omelette one day and french toast another day. We really liked the maple and caramel spreads though. All in all very expensive for moderate accomodation and food. I am not sure how Chez Marie Claire is but James Thomson across the street looks very attractive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussZy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our room was great, at the second floor of the house.The bathroom (just beside our room) was small but clean (with shampoo and hair dryer for customer inside).
Like the others reviewers have said, you can hear people walking on the wood ground, but it's normal for an old house,...
The only bad point for me is the light on the corridor all night long!
Breakfast is delicious and generous (brioche, pancakes, cereals, fresh fruits, maple sirop....).
An other good point is the parking behind the house.
Price is maybe high, but it's the price when you want to be in the old Quebec

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mllecoccinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We came to Quebec looking for a cosy B&B for our 2 night stay. Elise helped carry our luggage up and showed us to our room. It was fairly small- we couldn't really have our suitcase open, and the bathroom was odd, with the toilet up on a step. There was a communal living room. Breakfast was tasty, we had an omlette one morning, and waffles the next, plus a large selection of toast spreads, a couple of cereals, coffee etc. It was at a sort of communal table but as I don't speak French well enough to understand over the quebecois accent, it didn't really work s
o well, so we felt a little awkward.
The location is fairly good, near the gates, parliament, and a stroll to Frontenac, or downhill to rue st. Jean.
Sound seems to travel very easily in the building so I got woken up by people going downstairs for breakfast as they talked and creaked the floorboards. A young child stayed there a night too and I woke to its crying twice which isn't the fault of the B&B but I found sounds were amplified or carried easily within.
Upon going to check out we were told that they don't accept credit cards only cash. We had to walk to the bank near Frontenac (suggested ATM nearby didn't work) to be able to pay in cash. Apparently we 'should have been told' upon booking... But obviously weren't.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orimallei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,112 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,104 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,873 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Marie-Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Marie-Claire

Property: Chez Marie-Claire
Address: 62 rue Ste-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Marie-Claire 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Old Quebec! Welcome to the beautiful Old City! Two minutes from Château Frontenac, the greenery of the Plains of Abraham, cafes, shops, etc. Find yourself in a peaceful place, with a large comfortable room, with a private bathroom available. Complete breakfast Private bathroom Parking included Start you day with a generous breakfast in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Marie-Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Marie-Claire Hotel Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing