We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
435
352
99
46
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
352
99
46
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen stove top great location superior suite old quebec welcome drink separate bedroom lower town cruise terminal small kitchen within walking distance the sofa bed old building farmers market stone walls hotel is located art galleries
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I spent two nights at L'Hotel Port-Royal in Quebec City during July with my wife and two young children. It's very well located in Old Quebec, with great access to the main access road in/out of town, local shops and restaurants, and the finiculaire (to get up to the rest of the city). It's also very clean - both the common areas and the room that we stayed in (the turn-down service did a nice job). The beds are comfortable (even a pull-out that my daughter slept on seemed pretty comfortable). I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

That all said, it wasn't a peaceful or quiet place by any means. Always bustling in the common area and a busy tavern on the ground floor. We unfortunately had a room right above that tavern and it played music through indoor and outdoor speakers until 1:30 am both evenings. We didn't complain to staff about it, so I can't say that our issues weren't addressed, but I don't think that it's good form to have a restaurant with loud music in a hotel - just my two cents.

Despite the noise, we had a nice stay. I thought we got a relatively good value for what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the first floor (the first floor is really the second floor), especially above the Tavern.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcdrew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes M, Directeur général at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear dcdrew19
We thank you for your excellent comments which are for us the most beautiful of the rewards
Your comment about the restaurant will be addressed to managers be assured
we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for only one night. Hotel is well located and has parking which is important. The room was comfortable and clean. Service was great. Would definitely recommend. The price is high but in keeping with other hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes M, Directeur général at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Frenchenglish

Thank you for your good comment
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Port Royal Hotel
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel port royal is a small, neat and well located hotel. I stayed in the third floor and our room was spacious and clean, I cannot complain about the street noice as I did not hear anything loud or distourbing while I stayed there. On the other hand my ac made a little noice but nothIng major as I was able to sleep with no problem.
The beds are very soft in my case I prefer a bed that is a little bit stiffer but as I said I slept well so it’s nothing you can’t handle for a few days.
Staff was super helpful they told us about good restaurants where to go and what to see.
My only complain would be the gym, I say this because it is a very small room so if there is more than two people you cannot work out properly also they onlu have one treadmill and all of the machines are in bad conditions and old so if your looking to workout while you enjoy your stay I would recommend maybe a newer hotel.
In conclusion you get what you paid for it’s a well located hotel, clean and friendly staff but it’s amenities could be a little better.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank EduardoF4216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes M, Directeur général at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear EdouardoF

We thank you for your comments which are very important for us
Follow up for improvement will be tracked be insured
We look forward to welcoming you again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We traveled to Quebec city not really knowing what our hotel would be like. What a pleasant surprise. It is perfectly located in the lower city near the Place Royal, the river parks, and beautiful cobble-stoned streets lined with flowers and stone buildings. The hotel is charming; our room was like returning to a retreat each night. It was always clean, beautifully appointed, and very quiet for a big city. Also, the staff was so charming and helpful. The L'Hotel Port-Royal helped make our trip to Quebec an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillier233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

My 3 teens and I stayed in one of the Deluxe Plus King Suites for 3 nights. Our room was very beautiful, featuring a gorgeous stone wall with large windows. The view wasn’t so great (a gas station) however we were able to view the fireworks from our room during the last night of our stay.

The bed was VERY comfortable and the linens were soft. The sofa bed got a few complaints but all in all it worked out for my boys. The bathroom was lacking counter space but it was very well decorated and the large porcelain tub was very nice as well.

The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was cleaned and arranged perfectly each day when we returned to our room.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes M, Directeur général at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018
Google Translation

Dear Nicole A
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir sus impresiones, le agradecemos sinceramente sus excelentes comentarios
Deseando darle la bienvenida de nuevo en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Quebec
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews