We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've been in Le Relais Lyonnais with my husband, 2 nights during our honeymoon. It's well connected and 10 minutes walking from the center of the city (old town). In fact the hotel is in downtown, in the heart of the "Quartier Latin", where there are lots of restaurants and pubs. It isn't big but our room was clean and modern and a nespresso was always available in the room. Good Breakfast for free. Pay attention if you are by car, parking isn't free!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    86
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
257
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

we were looking for a reasonable priced room to visit our daughters studying in Montreal. What a perfect place. The host is extremely cordial and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and homey. The bathrooms are very sweet with a skylight . The location can't be better. The breakfasts are exquisite. We are very happy here.

Room Tip: upstairs room has great terrace which would be wonderful in the warmer days
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I'm probably going to regret adding to the collection of great reviews about this place, because it will likely become perpetually booked and I'll never be able to get a reservation again.

I made the reservation online without really understanding where this hotel was located...but as it turns out, it could not have been better situated for us. It is a half-block from a major metro station (Berri-UQAM) that offers 2 routes/ lines, so you are really accessible to most of the city from that spot. Additionally, the area is very walkable, even at night. Yes, there are many clubs and so forth that operate late at night but the crowd seems pretty harmless.

We are in our 40s so the club scene is over for my husband and I but the noise didn't really bother us too much. (We stayed on a Saturday night.) I was able to sleep very well, despite having a room overlooking the main street.

The room (3rd floor) was smartly decorated...very urban feel, very clean and had all the necessary amenities including free wi-fi and a cappuccino machine. There was a computer and printer outside my room which made it easy to check in for our flight.

We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast offered on Sunday morning at the restaurant downstairs. More than ample and very good. My somewhat particular husband raved about how skillfully his potatoes were cooked. They also served fresh-squeezed orange juice (imagine, fresh-squeezed in winter in Montreal.)

The gentleman working the desk was extremely helpful...he gave us a map and plotted all the places we told him we wanted to visit. He also arranged for a cab for us the next afternoon.

Really, this was a gem of a place to stay and we will definitely make this our "go to" hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights based solely on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. Really not much else to add that hasn't been covered! We took the metro from the train station and were very happy with how close it was to the stop- 1/2 a block. The neighbourhood is very lively- not "touristy"- and we were greeted by some panhandlers as soon as we emerged from the station. They were harmless but definitely a fixture of that corner.

We wanted a quick getaway where we could be in the middle of things, and people watch- this is definitely a great neighbourhood for that! Even mid-week in February, many students and locals about.

We were greeted by a young man that followed us up to the lobby- we were early but he held our bags for us and was very welcoming. He promptly gave us a map and showed us several sites of interest and assured us we could walk to different destinations. Very helpful. When we returned he brought our luggage upstairs for us.

The room is probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in- and the cleaning ladies obviously take pride and treat the room and guests like it is their home. Nice little touches.

We stayed in a room at the back- SO quiet! We were amazed that despite its location and small size it is completely quiet. Unlike other hotels where you hear doors opening and closing, other guest traffic, etc... completely peaceful. After days and nights of walking around it was very nice to escape to a quiet little corner of the world!

Amazing pillows- all 6 of them!

Everything is within walking distance- Old Montreal, food, shopping, Ste Catherine street.

We did meet Albert and he really is genuine and charming- eager to welcome you and answer any question.

We had breakfast at the Brioche downstairs- after reading the reviews we were excited for it the first day. The waitress gave us menus but then quickly told us that the hot breakfasts were not available during the week- only weekends. We were quite disappointed, but enjoyed the pastry and bread.

The next day we were going to find another breakfast spot where we could have a big breakfast- but decided at the last minute to go downstairs for coffee and the newspaper first. A different waitress gave us the menu and assured us that the eggs and omelettes were available- and were included with our complimentary breakfast! Also nice to grab a dessert in the evening. The girls were happy to package it up for us to take up to the hotel.

All in all a wonderful little gem in a vibrant neighbourhood- and with the deal found on tripadvisor a STEAL. Would definitely recommend and hope to return with my daughter this spring.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kaece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here last night and it exceeded our expectations from start to finish. The price and location can't be beat. Parking was only $10 across the street and inside-perfect for the cold winters. We had an early meeting the next morning so they delivered breakfast to us the night before. We also got upgraded to a larger room on the 3rd floor. Gorgeous!! Staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and answering our questions.

We can't wait to return and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmcinni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#44 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
409 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 164 in Montreal
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
543 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 164 in Montreal
676 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#39 of 164 in Montreal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Property: Le Relais Lyonnais
Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing