We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Relais Lyonnais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lelux Hotel(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Visitel(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Breton(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 7 Saisons(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
300
89
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
89
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarterrue st denisthird floorsmall hotelnespresso machinerain showerreplenished dailylively streetboutique hotelno elevatorsitting roomold montrealcroissantsgreat boutiqueevery morningbars and restaurantsgreat shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

we were looking for a reasonable priced room to visit our daughters studying in Montreal. What a perfect place. The host is extremely cordial and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and homey. The bathrooms are very sweet with a skylight . The location can't be better. The breakfasts are exquisite. We are very happy here.

Room Tip: upstairs room has great terrace which would be wonderful in the warmer days
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I'm probably going to regret adding to the collection of great reviews about this place, because it will likely become perpetually booked and I'll never be able to get a reservation again.

I made the reservation online without really understanding where this hotel was located...but as it turns out, it could not have been better situated for us. It is a half-block from a major metro station (Berri-UQAM) that offers 2 routes/ lines, so you are really accessible to most of the city from that spot. Additionally, the area is very walkable, even at night. Yes, there are many clubs and so forth that operate late at night but the crowd seems pretty harmless.

We are in our 40s so the club scene is over for my husband and I but the noise didn't really bother us too much. (We stayed on a Saturday night.) I was able to sleep very well, despite having a room overlooking the main street.

The room (3rd floor) was smartly decorated...very urban feel, very clean and had all the necessary amenities including free wi-fi and a cappuccino machine. There was a computer and printer outside my room which made it easy to check in for our flight.

We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast offered on Sunday morning at the restaurant downstairs. More than ample and very good. My somewhat particular husband raved about how skillfully his potatoes were cooked. They also served fresh-squeezed orange juice (imagine, fresh-squeezed in winter in Montreal.)

The gentleman working the desk was extremely helpful...he gave us a map and plotted all the places we told him we wanted to visit. He also arranged for a cab for us the next afternoon.

Really, this was a gem of a place to stay and we will definitely make this our "go to" hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights based solely on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. Really not much else to add that hasn't been covered! We took the metro from the train station and were very happy with how close it was to the stop- 1/2 a block. The neighbourhood is very lively- not "touristy"- and we were greeted by some panhandlers as soon as we emerged from the station. They were harmless but definitely a fixture of that corner.

We wanted a quick getaway where we could be in the middle of things, and people watch- this is definitely a great neighbourhood for that! Even mid-week in February, many students and locals about.

We were greeted by a young man that followed us up to the lobby- we were early but he held our bags for us and was very welcoming. He promptly gave us a map and showed us several sites of interest and assured us we could walk to different destinations. Very helpful. When we returned he brought our luggage upstairs for us.

The room is probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in- and the cleaning ladies obviously take pride and treat the room and guests like it is their home. Nice little touches.

We stayed in a room at the back- SO quiet! We were amazed that despite its location and small size it is completely quiet. Unlike other hotels where you hear doors opening and closing, other guest traffic, etc... completely peaceful. After days and nights of walking around it was very nice to escape to a quiet little corner of the world!

Amazing pillows- all 6 of them!

Everything is within walking distance- Old Montreal, food, shopping, Ste Catherine street.

We did meet Albert and he really is genuine and charming- eager to welcome you and answer any question.

We had breakfast at the Brioche downstairs- after reading the reviews we were excited for it the first day. The waitress gave us menus but then quickly told us that the hot breakfasts were not available during the week- only weekends. We were quite disappointed, but enjoyed the pastry and bread.

The next day we were going to find another breakfast spot where we could have a big breakfast- but decided at the last minute to go downstairs for coffee and the newspaper first. A different waitress gave us the menu and assured us that the eggs and omelettes were available- and were included with our complimentary breakfast! Also nice to grab a dessert in the evening. The girls were happy to package it up for us to take up to the hotel.

All in all a wonderful little gem in a vibrant neighbourhood- and with the deal found on tripadvisor a STEAL. Would definitely recommend and hope to return with my daughter this spring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kaece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here last night and it exceeded our expectations from start to finish. The price and location can't be beat. Parking was only $10 across the street and inside-perfect for the cold winters. We had an early meeting the next morning so they delivered breakfast to us the night before. We also got upgraded to a larger room on the 3rd floor. Gorgeous!! Staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and answering our questions.

We can't wait to return and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmcinni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We only stayed one night, but our room was clean and comfortable and fairly quiet. The hotel is in the Latin Quarter, which has a lot of street life, so the rooms facing the street may be noisier, but we were in the back (room 203). The rooms all have hardwood floors, and outside each room is a tray of pebbles for your wet and salty shoes (nice touch). There was no one at the desk when we arrived, but someone responded to the buzzer very quickly and was very cordial and helpful. The Berri-UQAM metro station (which is a hub for most of the metro lines) is quite close, and there are a zillion little restaurants in the neighborhood, so it would be a great place to use as a base for a longer stay in Montreal.

You have to go up a flight of stairs to get to the hotel door, and more stairs to get to most rooms, so this might be an issue for some folks. There is parking available in the lot behind the theater across the street.

If you are in to big hotels with a spa and room service and elevators, this is not for you. But if you like smaller hotels in real neighborhoods, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Back rooms are probably quieter than street-side rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEKVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews