We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casa de mateo, montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Casa de Mateo
Ranked #100 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“casa de mateo, montreal”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

very nice and homey, located in Montreal's old port in a beautiful area. The services were good, and the staff always friendly. Very basic rooms, but very clean as well, great value for price. The Mexican restaurant was really nice too.

I think the location was the best thing about it though. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
10
29
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

it was a great place they had a really good service and if i ever go back to montreal i'll for sure go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my best friend for a girl's weekend and there were good and bad points.

I had booked online with Tourism Montreal for two nights and when we arrived it was set for three nights, but they changed that quickly. They also let us check in three hours early, which was awesome as we walked from greyhound with our luggage and were very tired.

The first night we were there there was an electrical issue and the fire alarm was going off and then stopping, and then going off for hours, probably from 11PM to 3AM or so. The concierge was trying very hard to get the issue fixed and was very apologetic. But it was still very tiring.

The breakfast was very good. It was juice, a spicy scrambled egg concoction and fruit, with toast and croissants and muffins available.

The staff were all awesome. The location was good too, very close to lots of attractions.

The rooms were clean but it was a bit odd there was just a bunch of small soaps and shampoo packages in a basket on the dresser.

The shower door in the bathroom did not catch properly and would not close. It did not leak but it had obviously been that way for a while.

Overall it was a good experience, but the lack of sleep the first night sucked.

Room Tip: The room with the broken bathroom was directly up the stairs on the third floor, and to the left in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Quite basic rooms, but great value for the price. Very friendly and helpful service, and a very generous breakfast. We were very happy there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Finding a hotel and a restaurant where everybody speaks Spanish (they also speak French and English) is pretty hard nowadays, unless you are in Spanish countries. However at Casa de Mateo, i found friendly people from all over latinamerica who provided me with a really good service and made me feel at home. I went to Montreal on a business trip and i never expected finding such a charming place in this French city. The staff was very friendly to say the least. The rooms were cozy and clean. The breakfast was delicious too. This is a very special spot for latinamerican people staying in Montreal. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 165 in Montreal
1,012 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel St Paul
Hotel St Paul
#32 of 165 in Montreal
1,182 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 146 in Montreal
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Casa de Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Property: Auberge Casa de Mateo
Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge Casa de Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing