We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,853)
Filter reviews
2,853 results
Traveller rating
2,088
563
132
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,088
563
132
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old montreal junior suite rain spa notre dame exposed brick rooftop bar chocolate covered strawberries beautiful hotel electric fireplace high ceilings jacuzzi tub perfect location turn down service huge bathroom beautiful room hotel bar hardwood floors
Filter
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 2,853 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The atmosphere, service and quality of the room and facilities was beyond comfortable, distinctive and a fantastic experience. Its a unique property and is one of those places that is to be experienced, rather than just finding a room for the night. I look forward to returning here.

Room Tip: The fireplace in the wintertime is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tylertravels2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine J, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Bonjour tylertravels2015,

We are pleased that you had a fantastic time while visiting Montréal! As a boutique hotel, we take pride in offering a personalized service to our guests, and are thrilled that you were able to experience the uniqueness we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Madeleine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We have just returned from a 2 night stay over New Years. We booked 2 Jr suites as we were traveling with our 3 boys. The rooms were large, clean, very comfortable and beautiful! The bathrooms were a dream too.
Every member of staff was pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful.
We opted to stay at the hotel for their New Year party and wandered down to the old port around midnight. The place was hopping, great atmosphere. We'll return again soon and will definitely be booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Jr suites are great, good size and the bathrooms are amazing!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine J, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Bonjour Gill E,

We are thrilled to read that you and your family rang in the New Year with a bang! Thank you so much for these very kind words in regards to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you all again.

Warm regards,

Madeleine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We were in the older part of the building and someone had pumped up the heat in our room prior to our arrival... and the windows didn't open... but that settled down after the first night, and after that - no complaints.

The bed was comfy, the room was tight but we weren't spending lots of time there. It had all the amenities we needed and the free wifi was plenty fast for our purposes. The staff was super helpful and when we hadn't used our "free beverage" at the hotel bar when we were getting ready to check out, we were able to sit and simply enjoy a breakfast smoothie on the house instead.

We got a steal of a deal for the rate and would definitely stay there again due to the location in relation to Old Montreal as well as it's proximity to a metro station, making it very easy to get out and about on a short weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grace_K102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine J, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Bonjour Grace_K102,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Le Place d’Armes Hôtel & Suites and your visit to Vieux Montréal. We are always happy to read such kind words in regards to our service & staff and will be sure to keep a closer eye on the temperature settings (with our crazy Montréal weather, the seasons change daily!)

Warm regards,

Madeleine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This was my third visit to the Place d'Armes hotel, and once again, my visit exceeded expectations. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated with care. The staff at this hotel have excellent attention to detail, and consistently go above and beyond the call of duty. Case in point, I happened to mention while making my reservation (some 6 weeks prior to my visit) that I would be in town for my birthday, and upon arrival to the hotel, we were informed that our junior suite had been upgraded with compliments from the hotel to the executive suite. On top of this, a delicious desert was waiting for me in my room along with a card welcoming me back to the hotel and wishing me a happy birthday. Gestures such as these, along with the timeless beauty of the hotel itself, that keep me coming back.

The hotel is extremely well situated in Old Montreal, within walking distance of major sights and wonderful restaurants, as well as the shopping area on Catherine street. The beds and pillows are also extremely comfortable.

Best hotel in Old Montreal, hands down!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jessica_purdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine J, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Bonjour jessica_purdy

Thank you for taking the time to review Le Place d’Armes Hôtel & Suites. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your birthday and visit to Montréal! We take pride in offering a personalized service, from the moment our guests arrive to the moment they leave.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Madeleine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We chose Le Place d'Armes because it seemed in a good location and appeared more intimate than a bigger hotel. We were not disappointed. A great location. Lots of helpful advice as visitors and each night a great recommendation for a restaurant that was not at their hotel! Service was great and rooms of good size and well appointed. A pleasurable experience and very good value!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank donplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine J, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear donplow,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Le Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites. Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. I will be sure to share you kind words with my team.

Warm Regards,

Madeleine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews