We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Montreal visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Staff friendly, rooms and hotel clean, swimming pool, hot tub and exercise room was a bonus. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers, staying Friday and Saturday night. Hotel close to lots of excellent restaurants and pubs. The Igloo festival happened to be on - bonus. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    444
    119
    25
    22
See reviews for
334
350
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut Yankee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve 2011, just for one night. Compared to New York prices, it was a relative bargain, as our rate included parking (often not included in Montreal and expensive at $20 and up per night), free breakfast, and a $25 gas card (which they ran out of so refunded us the money).

We booked a one bedroom suite, which was spacious, with a kitchenette, bedroom, and living room, as well as a couple of large closets. Our room was basic but comfortable, with the usual comfy Marriott bed.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, and the desk staff were extremely helpful at answering our questions about how to navigate the Metro and other questions about the area.

The location is what makes this place special. Located in the heart of the old port area (Old Montreal), the Springhill Suites affords access to the quaint cobblestoned streets of the old district as well as being within a short walking distance of Chinatown, Rue St. Catherine, the mall, and various Metro stops. Because many shopkeepers take the week between Xmas and New Year's off, we did find that the dining and shopping in Old Montreal were quite limited, but we managed to find a really great breakfast joint (Le Gros Jambon) nearby. Delicious food in a funky diner-style eatery; reasonable and unexpectedly gourmet! We took the metro across town (on the north side of Mont Royal) to eat at Le Petit Italien on the recommendation of a chef friend originally from Montreal--it's worth the trip on the easy-to-navigate Metro!

Back to the hotel, where we kicked back with some wine and rang in the New Year. The hotel is nicely soundproofed, so we didn't hear much in the way of festivities (other than a seemingly HUGE--from the sound of them--mob of revelers in the street after the fireworks displays; no amount of soundproofing could keep their merriment out!)

Overall, this was a nice place to stay and we were very satisfied with the comfort, amenities, and staff. The included breakfast was good, and the valet parking was convenient. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for New Year's Eve and we were lucky to get a corner unit as it was basically a small apartment with a kitchenette, den area, living room area with sofa bed couch and separate tv separated from the 'bedroom' which also has a tv. The bathroom was larger than normal hotel size and 2 mini closets. Hotel is centrally located in Old Montreal, we were able to walk around town and have many good dinner choices literally just down the street. Perfect place to stay if you don't want the hustle bustle city feel as it feels very quaint, but close enough to it. Breakfast buffet was pretty good, your typical continental food with fresh fruits and make your own waffle.

Will definitely come back and ask to stay in same room.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner unit, all the more worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luuloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a 4-star hotel with a perfect location for a tourist, right in the middle of the Old Montréal. It is a safe choice with a low probability of being disappointed (but not amazed either), especially if you’re able to find a good package deal.

The rooms are suites, meaning that there is a living room and a kitchen, besides the bedroom. The room had no view to speak of, but it was reasonably well maintained, pretty spacious and comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the air conditioning/heater was very loud, so I had to turn it off in order to sleep.

The service at the front desk was professional and efficient, and the lobby is functional and unassuming.

The breakfast was proper, but nothing to write home about. A positive point is that internet access was included, of good quality, and the password was given to me at check-in, I didn't even had to ask. There are also a pool and a gym which, although small, are decent and provide another entertainment/exercise choice.

The valet parking worked well for us, although I couldn't say the price, since it was included on our package deal. The best thing, however, is to leave the car there and explore the city on foot and on the subway, which is also close to the hotel

I would easily recommend this hotel for a tourist in Montréal, especially if you will make use of the kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstroJunq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to Notre Dame Basillica (definitely worth a look regardless of your religious beliefs), while it is not located on a main road, it is still easy to walk around Montreal from here. I should mention that the hotel has a carpark you can use (at a charge) but we didn't bother.

We had two interconnected rooms (211 and 213) and both were nice and clean. Overnight we could hear some traffic noise, but generally it was OK. The beds were comfortable, if not a little warm.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was served on the mezzanine level of the hotel and is fairly standard (waffles, porridge, cold cereal, toast, some fruit, juices and coffee). The staff kept everything well stocked and fresh. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant next to the hotel, but there were plenty of options nearby.

The staff were lovely and helpful. We weren't in Montreal very long, but I would definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing