We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a visit to Montreal”
Review of Castel Durocher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castel Durocher
Ranked #20 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I have now stayed at Durochet twice, and was thoroughly pleased both times. The rooms are clean, private, very comfortable and well-decorated with a flair for the artistic. The hosts are friendly, full of tips about how to experience Montreal, and the Belgian chocolates are a bonus. I'll never stay in a hotel when I visit this city again.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank djdEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2007

We have stayed at several places in Montreal, hotels and B&B, by far the Castel Durocher is the best. It’s centrally located to shopping, museums and the subway. It’s in walking distance to the nightlife on Peel, the craziness of St Catherine and the great food on St Laurent.

Vincent and Sandrine treated us more like family than guests and wouldn’t hesitate to do anything to make your stay even more enjoyable. They know the best places to eat and always filled the room with chocolates and the best pastry we have ever had.

We go to Montreal almost every summer. We enjoy the life, the vibrancy of the city and its people. The city is bi-lingual and we have never had trouble communicating with anyone. All summer long its one festival after another. The International Jazz and Comedy Festivals are just a few we have attended. All, by the way, within walking distance as well.

We will never stay anywhere else while visiting Montreal. We whole heartedly recommend it for a family vacation or a romantic escape. .

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ncahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2007

We stayed for 3 days this past February in the downstairs apartment. The apartment is very tidy and looks like it was remodeled, with hardwood floors and tiled kitchen and bathroom. The bathroom looks very modern. Kitchen was outfitted with crackers, cheese, spices, OJ, milk, cereal, chocolate samples, and fresh fruits (although the coffee in the cupboard was expired).

Plusses: Hosts are very friendly and conversational. Good location within walking distance to Metro and Mount Royal and several restaurants. A small grocery store is located about 100 feet from the front door.

Minuses: Sofa is small (actually a loveseat with a slipcover) and dining room chairs are not very comfortable. The advertised internet access did not work (it's a 10 year old computer running a French version of Windows 98). TV (13"), VCR, and DVD are old and the DVD does not have the proper cabling. Extra charges - $25/day for a mattress on the living room floor, $10/day for parking. Walkway from the apartment to the parking spot behind the house was not shoveled.

Neutral: Hosts did not know or had difficulty describing how to get to places we wanted to go (Mount Tremblant, tubing and ice skating on Mount Royal, airport car rental return). Make sure you research before you come!

Overall our stay was OK and the hosts are very friendly, but I have stayed in better B&Bs. If you don't plan on spending much time in the apartment, it should be OK.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SamSpayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

I stayed here quite a while ago but it was a great time. It was four of us and we rented out the entire place so it was two bedrooms, a bathroom room, living room area and kitchen/dining area. Everymorning, the owners -- who were very nice -- brought down chocolate croissants.

It was in a great location--walking distance to everything and I personally like inns or b&bs better than hotels. It was very reasonably priced, especially split between four people. I think when we went, it ended up being $40 per person per night.

  • Stayed: June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank punkissodead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

This is a lovely, personable bed and breakfast operated by Sandrine and Vincent, a Belgian couple who immigrated about 14 years ago to Montreal and are raising their family there. The bed and breakfast is in a historic Victorian mansion, with an additional upstairs suite in a building around the corner. My son and I stayed in this accommodation during the last part of February and this was a highlight of our trip. My son was auditioning for the music school at McGill University and the Castel is across the street, making it very convenient as Montreal winter weather is about five degrees above zero. Sandrine and Vincent could not have been kinder. My son forgot his coat, they loaned him one. Sandrine gave me a very good price on the suite, which was recently remodeled with two bedrooms, a kitchen, bath and living room, and left a variety of fresh, delicious foodstuffs for us in the fridge. Our luggage was lost for the entire three days we were there, but Sandrine offered to loan me some of her clothes and Vincent was very helpful in trying to get in touch with someone at the airline. And, Vincent is a chocolatier (!) so delicious chocolate is always there! If we return to Montreal I would definitely stay at the Castel again, great price, good location, a pretty, clean room and charming owners.

5  Thank phkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,756 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Durocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Durocher

Address: 3488 Durocher, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: €171 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Durocher 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments with character located right in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castel Durocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing