We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
54
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in late April in the Victorian suite and immediately felt at home. We were welcomed by Vincent and given a tour of the apartment. Victor and Sandrine have thought of everything - coffee maker & French press for coffee, pots, pans, dishes, spices, oils, plenty of linens, pillows & storage space, a hair dryer and even a first aid kit and bath foam in the bathroom. The unit features a washer and dryer which we did not use. The apartment is very conveniently located near a couple of grocery stores so you can pick up supplies for breakfast (they supply the 1st morning - croissants, yogurt, butter, jam, coffee, milk, apple juice, coconut water, cheese, a baguette, tea & fresh fruit) and there are several restaurants nearby - other reviewers have mentioned Lola Rosa and we agree - great food, even for non-vegetarians. There are a couple of parking spots available for $10 a night - we could see the car from the apartment, which was great, and it was behind a fence down an off-the-beaten-path alley, so very safe. The neighborhood is lovely but best of all it is utterly, totally silent - we heard nothing from the bedroom in the back of the unit - no traffic, no voices, no other residents (Top Suite is directly upstairs), nothing. For the middle of the city, in a student neighborhood, this is amazing. It is a quick 6 minute walk to the McGill metro station and about 20 minutes to Old Montreal on foot.
Vincent makes his own chocolate which he provides for guests. It will spoil you for all other chocolate. We thought it was amazing - and we've been to Belgium! Definitely the place to stay if you want a home away from home that is quiet, centrally located, spotlessly clean and charming to boot.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank koconnor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in the Top Suite 2-bed apartment at Castel Durocher for a fortnight in March 2014, so we could be close to our son, who was living down the street during his study year at McGill University. Everything about the apartment was perfect: location, comfort and facilities. The owners were fluent bi-lingual and extremely friendly, helpful hosts. The position of the flat was brilliant: it's just a street or two from the McGill campus and a few minutes walk from Rue Sherbrooke, which is the start of Downtown proper. At the bottom of the street is McGill's music school, with public concerts practically every night during termtime. McGill's sports centre is about 15 minutes walk away and guests are allowed day passes for a modest fee.
The apartment was really warm, despite sub-zero temperatures outside and thick snow. Access to the front door is via an outside iron staircase, so those with mobility problems could find this tricky. There's another staircase inside the flat, which leads up to the living quarters. The decor is tasteful and the kitchen is well-stocked. The apartment was very quiet.
I'd thoroughly recommend the apartment, especially if there are three or four of you to share the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Castel Durocher - No comparison with a hotel. Each hotel on this world can never arrive this very high level of hospitality with family atmosphere! If you looking for a sweet place, a real bijoux...so book one of the suites in the Durocher! I recommend it! The suite Victoria is as a home, spacious and furnished with love, each detail you can feel... it is more than just a room to sleep! Own kitchen with all what you need, always stocked fridge, everything is there, nothing is missing:-)! Sandrine and Vincent are the friendliest and most magnificent hosts I have ever met.

Despite work and stressful days, I could enjoy the evening at the Durocher home, just relax and gather strength for the next day. It was indescribably great.

As swiss I am an expert in chocolate issues...The Durocher chocolate is perfect and very very deliciously! Central location, walking distance to everything. It is sure, I will come back next year!

Simone Augello

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was more than homey, it was home. I had the grand suite, which is really a beautifully finished ground floor apartment with a good-size queen bedroom, big bath and an airy living area and kitchen (and its own entrance). Daily flowers, the refrigerator stocked with new treats each day, plus all the necessities for a (French) breakfast. The neighborhood close to McGill has tree-lined streets lined with three and four story brick or stone residences, much more appealing than the brawny center city, which is nonetheless just a few blocks away, and infinitely more charming than the overrun Vieux Montréal down by the port. A great vegetarian restaurant just across the street. Vincent and Sandrine are accomplished hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlecWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Belgian Chocolate.

My wife and I spent three wonderful nights at the Castel Durocher with close friends from Quebec this month. From the time we arrived until we left, the hallmark of the experience was the friendliness of Sandrine, Vincent, their assistants and family. No question was too odd; no request left unfulfilled. We booked the two bedroom "Stained Glass Suite".

Belgian Chocolate.

Each day started off with complementary fresh croissants, a baguette and fruit with yoghurt. The kitchen was well stocked with the more than just kitchen basics, coffee, milk, etc. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious as were the sitting/dining room and kitchen.

Belgian Chocolate.

The proximity to McGill University, Sherbooke Street and Rue St. Catharines made the location ideal. It was an $8.00 cabbie fee from the "Old City/Port". Everything was close. Restaurants were abundant and nearby with the best choices and prices on Rue St. Arthur....a little east of Castel Durocher. Overnight parking was also available at no additional cost.

We couldn't ask for more and will return for certain.

Thanks to Sandrine and Vincent who were most hospitable hosts.

There was also Belgian Chocolate...real Belgian Chocolate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHutton41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews