We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character filled and super freindly environment”
Review of Castel Durocher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castel Durocher
Ranked #20 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We cancelled our Holiday Inn reservation after finding this Gem; stayed in the "top suite" 2 bedroom apartment for an extended weekend visit.
My friends daughter, a student at McGill was able to stay with us in the suite and It was a very nice get together place for everyone.
Lots of room, great balconies, fantastic location in the middle of the hustle and bustel of fun Montreal evenings, close to the metro and great shopping.
A fully stocked kitchen cutlery, plates, cups, glasses, pots/pans.
The local fare is great to test out if you dont feel like cooking - the oven came in handy for reheating leftovers.
The room had essentials in the fridge for a nice breakfast selection with coffee and coffee maker, cream, milk, cereal selection, crackers, fruits, cheese and chocolates.
Close walk to absolutley everything, fantastic host and hotstess who were very thoughtful and accommodating and kind.
I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

I was attending a conference in Montreal in June 2011, and decided against booking a room in the conference hotel. I've spent too many nights in anonymous hotel rooms in different parts of the country, and on this trip, I decided to try something different. Castel Durocher is near McGill University, and is within very easy walking distance of downtown Montreal, and the Plateau neighbourhood. Furthermore, there is a good range of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, along with a delectable Belgian patisserie.
When I arrived on Monday evening, I was shown to the Suite Victoria - this was a one bedroom suite with a large and bright sitting/dining room, lovely bathroom, bedroom with queen sized bed, fully stocked kitchen and a covered balcony. The high ceilings and mouldings gave the place a classy air, and the art was great! As promised, the big fridge was stocked with food - grapefruit, milk, cheese, jam, coffee, juice and the all important chocolate. Sandrine had also provided bread, pastries, cereal, fruit and tea. One could not ask for better service. Each morning, fresh pastries appeared as if by magic! All in all, this was a great stay, and I would definitely hope to get back to Montreal and Castel Durocher again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Etowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had the pleasure staying at Castel Durocher during May 2011. We were in town for a wedding and several friends were also travelling to Montreal. We wanted to rent a place that we could stay in together and yet be "separate". Castel Durocher was perfect for this purpose. My husband and I , along with our two children stayed in the top suite. The middle suite was reserved for the grandparents and we had friends stay in the lower suite. The suites have three time the square footage of a typical hotel while offering the same price (believe me, we checked the three hotels that are nearby and they were all more expensive for only a small room). Castel Durocher is a bargain for a family stay!

To boot, there were fresh chocolates, pastries, milk and juice, yogurt, crackers and cheese! Yum.

Btw, the pictures don't do justice to the place. It is much nicer and more quaint (in the best way possible).

Lovely touches everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelMuch?NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in the Victoria Suite in early June 2011. Right from our first introduction to Vincent and Sandrine we felt so welcome, and when we walked into what would be our home away from home for the next 6 days we were mesmerized. The suite is beautiful and well-appointed and the extra touches were greatly appreciated. The Metro is within walking distance and from there the city is easy to explore. After sightseeing everyday it was a pleasure to return to our ‘oasis’ and relax. The neighbourhood is very nice with several food options nearby. Both Vincent and Sandrine are a wealth of information about Montreal and gave us several great exploring ideas. It was hard leaving when our vacation came to an end and we certainly hope to return again and again to Castel Durocher.

Room Tip: The Victoria Suite is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandafsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

First impression was Heavenly peace away from a hectic work life back home... peaceful classical music filled the cozy suite... fresh flowers & croissants.... clean... & anything you might ever need as incidentals... service was excellent.. w/ a touch of elegance. Hot bath w/ a sweet homemade chocolate every night... Owners were lovely and helpful... Location was near Uni, restaurants & transportation lines w/ convenient bus line to my conference.. Loved everything about the suite.. Didn't like the extra taxes... made the room that much more expensive... Overall great visit!

Room Tip: Grand suite is street level & convenient..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leecy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Durocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Durocher

Address: 3488 Durocher, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: €170 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Durocher 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments with character located right in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castel Durocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing