We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
299
232
43
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
232
43
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peel street great location front desk full kitchen peel metro station breakfast staff free breakfast mcgill university small kitchen breakfast room mount royal montreal downtown parking garage the sofa bed walking distance good size bell centre
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Breakfast is quite well organized and a good value for your daily charge for the room.
A good location as you can walk to the McCord Museum in 10 minutes;the Museum of Fine Arts in 5 minutes, and the Old City in 20 minutes.
The staff are very good and the room keeping is excellent.
My only minor fault is that the lighting could be better in the rooms, but my wife says that this is only a minor item.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Bonjour Mark B,

Thank you for your feedback for your stay recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hot and cold buffet breakfast! The location of the hotel is indeed perfect, close to not only museums as you mentioned but also many other tourist attractions, hundreds of restaurants and the metro Peel station.

We thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We loved out stay in The Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They upgraded us from one bed and a pullout couch to 2 beds at no additional charge. The room was beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The kitchen had all needed plates, cups, utensils and a large refrigerator. The area was lovely. We could walk to museums, shopping, and delicious restaurants. The metro Peel was just around the corner. Our only complaint with the room is the lack of a full closing, locking bathroom door. Our room had a sliding panel rather than a door. There was no way to lock the panel or even keep it shut. It would randomly slide open. The breakfast quality was mediocre. We had hoped for a Montreal quality breakfast. The food was similar to a lower quality American hotel breakfast buffet. Parking was very expensive at $25 per day plus taxes. The parking was around the corner and under ground. This kept our car dry, so we liked that. Overall, we did enjoy our stay. Due to the breakfast quality, I would have given this hotel a 4. I am hoping this will improve, so I am rating this hotel a 5. We definitely would stay here again.

Room tip: The elevators are very small and only hold 3 people with luggage or 5 people without luggage.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccainPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Bonjour BeccainPA,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear we were able to upgrade you to a studio with two double beds at no cost, although a free upgrade may not always be available and depends on our availability I am happy we were able to honor this request for you free of charge!

Our hotel offers all different types of rooms and room displays for all different type of guests. I am sorry to hear the sliding bathroom door was not to your liking. If you choose to stay with us in the future you could always call in advance and let us know your room preference!

The hot and cold breakfast, that is included in the rate, is the standard Marriott Residence Inn breakfast offered around the world. However, you will also find fresh Montreal bagels from the best bagel shop in Montreal, St. Viateur. I hope you were able to enjoy this special touch we have added to our breakfast.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located in a great area, close to many restaurants, tourist attractions, underground city, and much more. The only "down side" as we are located in the heart of the city, just like any other big city, is that the parking could be pricey and is limited. Luckily, we do business with a n indoor and outdoor parking lot located on the street behind us and with the $25 plus taxes nightly rate our guests have the in and our privileges.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

During our trip we stayed at many Residence Inn hotels and to be honest this was the only good one and the only one we think has the Residence Inn standards. We stayed at Residence Inn Ottawa and Toronto and did not liked them. But this one is very nice, good service and great location.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank imm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Bonjour imm71,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are really happy to hear that out of all the Residence Inn's you've stayed in our hotel stands out. Our main goal is to make tour stay with us a memorable one and we are happy to hear this was the case for you!

We hope to welcome you again in the future if your travel plans bring you back to this beautiful city.

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Location is perfect with the Peel Metro station around the corner and very close to shopping and restaurants. Convenient for going around old Montreal too as one can take the Metro and change at Berri-UQAM, Room was great, very spacious. Kitchenette was well equipped. There is a supermarket (Provigo) about a kilometer away and a convenience store (Couche-Tard) couple of mins away. Staff was friendly and helpful.

There were few washer/dryers on the 2nd floor which was convenient.

The breakfast room gets quite crowded after 7.30AM and we had to wait for a long time to use the waffle maker. Breakfast was adequate, not great.

Though there are 3 elevators, it is busy and takes a long time.

Overall it was a nice stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Bonjour mva9,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. The hotel is located in downtown Montreal close to the Peel metro station, many restaurants and tourist attractions! Staying in our hotel, you will find anything you need walking distance, just come and ask our friendly front desk staff for any recommendations!

As an extended stay, we have guest laundry facilities. Each machine is $2 and we sell the detergent at the front desk. We understand this self-service is very convenient for our long term guests and we are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of it.

Our delicious hot and cold buffet breakfast may get crowded during peak hours. We recommend our guests to go earlier, however, we have a very efficient breakfast staff who will make sure things are rolling and they refill the food and clean the tables as fast as possible!

We thank you for choosing us.

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Six of us wanted to stay centrally downtown to attend our reunion. We came by train, by plane and by bus but all managed to rendez-vous within a few hours into a King Suite and a Suite with two doubles. The kitchen in the room had all utensils one would need to prepare for happy hour snacks. Nice to have a real glass to enjoy a wine out of. The front desk staff cannot be more obliging. Wonderful free iced beverages to enjoy in afternoon and fresh coffee in am. Free breakfasts which were very decent with plenty of delicious fruit, yogurts, porridge, eggs, bacon or sausage and veggie mini fare. Lots of room to accommodate our group of six in D-R. Orange juice particularly tasty. Breakfast Staff cannot be more accommodating-who would have known that the waffle mix is gluten free? Beds very comfortable but yes, one can hear trucks in the morning going about their business behind hotel on our lower 4th floor suite. We enjoyed our adjoining rooms and stay @ Residence Inn very much. Small "convenience store " in lobby.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews