We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Cozy, Great Neighborhood”
Review of Le rayon vert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le rayon vert
Ranked #41 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at Le Rayon Vert for five days and loved it. The owner, Diane, is very friendly, welcoming, and helpful - really makes you feel like a guest in her home. The house is beautiful and charming, breakfast with the guests is great and a perfect way to meet other people and get advice on what's good to do in the city. The neighborhood is adorable - tons of cafes and restaurants nearby, but not touristy at all. We would definitely stay here again, it was such a great experience and 1000x better than staying at a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian room which was very roomy and had a pretty window right on the street (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Even though we only had one night at La Rayon Vert, we really enjoyed our stay very much. It was our first B&B in Canada but we immediately felt like home there. For dinner we went down to the harbour side and we enjoyed our first evening in Montreal there.
After a good sleep, our breakfast was delicious and we got many helpful and interesting advises for our starting trip through Quebek and Ontario. All other guests (we have been an internal community that morning) seemed to be satisfied, no disturbing word was to hear.
A shame we could´nd use the garden due to our early departure right after the breakfast.
Anyway, coming back to Montreal one day, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Le Rayon Vert for a long weekend in Montreal during August. With festivals all over the city and lots to do and see it was a brilliant loaction for a base and a lovley calm place to come back to rest at the end of the day. There are also some great places to eat drink 5 mins away. We had a great breakfast with fresh croissant and freshly made eggs and the breakfast table was a nice pace to chat with the other guests over a coffee, share tips and travel highlights. Diane who runs the B&B made us very welcome and was a really interesting person to talk to about Montreal life, Canada's culture and travel in general. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed for two days but I would have enjoyed being there for more, the house is lovely and it is well decorated bringing the past to the present time. You won´t regret!!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank sanro32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Despite the excellent location, Le Rayon Vert leaves a lot to be desired. While the coffee is excellent, the breakfast is only fair. The beds are hard (we stayed in two different rooms) and the rooms are hot and uncomfortable. If you open the window for circulation, prepare yourself to be chastised by the owner, Diane, for wasting electricity, as she ostensibly keeps the AC running. And while she is full of advice about Montréal, she is nosy and meddlesome, and she refuses to speak French with Anglophones, despite the fact her English is mediocre at best. (Be ready for lots of sound effects and gesticulations.) Diane also egregiously panders to her guests from France, so if you're in the minority as an English speaker, it's likely you won't get the attention you deserve.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoGilberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,548 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 166 in Montreal
708 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le rayon vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le rayon vert

Address: St-Hubert street 4373 | Plateau Mt-Royal, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2X1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: €71 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice B&B located in the Plateau Mt-Royal. 2 minutes walking to the métro and 20 minutes walking from the Old Montréal. Shopping, transport and good restaurant near by. Breakfast includ , parking free on the street St-hubert. Nice garden to enjoy the end of the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing