We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the rough - Amazing food and service”
Review of Cadet

Cadet
Ranked #51 of 6,484 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Reviewed 9 November 2017

This restaurant was recommended by another restaurant that was closing for the night when we arrived. CADET was a great surprise. The restaurant is essentially an appetizer style. Portions are small (by design) so you end up ordering multiple combinations. The idea is to share the appetizer within your party.

We tried about 5 - 6 different appetizers and everyone of them was fantastic. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect.

I would highly recommend this for dinner and late night appetizers. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve always been a fan of Bouillon Bilk, Cadet did not disappoint.
The decor was minimalist and the service friendly.
The three of us ordered 9 dishes to share and everything was tasty.
Overall I preferred the vegetarian dishes and many were a bit Asian flavored.

The dessert list looked amazing. We shared the bread pudding which was perfect and a highlight of the whole meal.

More over the price was reasonable. After 9 dishes and 1 dessert (without drinks) shared between 3, it was less than 50$ after taxes and tips which is totally worth for this quality of food

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Ihearttango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We didn't make reservation at Bouillon Bilk and they asked if we would like to try their sister restaurant Cadet down the street. Made a reservation for us. Casual place, share dishes. Menu is small and each around $10-14. Waitress recommended 4-6 dishes for two people to make a full meal. We ordered 4 meat dishes and a watercress salad. They were delicious and more than enough. For a lady's appetite, one meat dish is big enough as it also comes with some veggies on each dish. Best of the 5 dishes is beef tartar- very well seasoned especially the mushroom. Salad is a nice surprise. Cod is just right, duck confit is perfect. Daily special pork belly with cracking chopped up mixed with cheese on toast - a bit too heavy for me but still taste delicious. No room for dessert.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank WingsWingsWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We went to Le Cadet , little brother of the exquisite Bouillon Bilk, but we were a bit disapointed. The crowd was very loud. We had problem communicating with our very good server as we also had problems communicatings with each other over the table. I still do not understand why resto's owner do not see to this and don't have a strict politic concerning very noisy clientsl Terrible! As for the service, it was excellent. The food was a bit disapointing going in every direction but still tasty. The only plate that was problematic were the calmars just out of the fridge and thus tasteless. We wont go back.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PantaRei46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Having been to Bouillon Bilk a few times and had given it a great review. We were looking forward to going the wine bar run by the same people.Parking can be difficult, we arrived on time and were shown to our table. Our I Weather explain the menu to us plate size is larger than tapas style. Since we were two couples we decided to try eight different dishes( more than enough food) Everything was excellent with a lot of interesting flavour combinations. The wine list was adequate with plenty to choose from. Would definitely recommend Cadet .

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank papagee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadet also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Cadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing