We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and people watching”

Maggie Oakes Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggie Oakes Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 6,370 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Inspired by Montreal’s vibrant culinary scene and American bistros and steakhouses, Maggie Oakes is a vegetable-forward market grill, overlooking historic Place Jacques-Cartier in Old Montreal. The menu offers a perfect blend of seasonal vegetables and quality meat with a commitment to local farmers and purveyors. Designed by Camdi, Maggie Oakes is dressed in marble, walnut and brass, and boasts an impressive dry age meat cooler, large glass wine cellar and a unique green wall for fresh herbs and micro-greens.
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We are staying in the hotel so have stopped by 2 times and will probably go a third.

Brunch on the patio was better than expected dispite being busy enough to barely move.

The cocktails were much better than expected and the servers were very friendly and attentive.

Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, General Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Bonsoir Dave,

Happy to read that you enjoyed our brunch menu and our homemade cocktails!
Hoping to host you again soon for brunch, lunch or dinner,

Kind regards,
Kim-Alexandra
Directrice du Maggie Oakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2018

And the server was very good and took time to explain. Of course it was just before noon and we were able to secure a two person table along the rail. Be aware however that there are herbs and plants along the railing that provide a nice touch but also attract bees. If you are allergic to them you might choose inside. We were able to shoo away a persistent one who wanted to see what was on the dinner menu.

Speaking of the menu of which there were three from the entrees, wine and cocktail/beer menu. I was disappointed to learn that a highlighted ipa was not available. The ordered st Ambrose ($8cdn) was a bit too hoppy but with Maggie Oakes well done burger ($19 cdn) if offset one another. The burger was ok and served on a platter with a small fry. The toppings made for an interesting time to avoid dripping off of the small platter. Although I requested some napkins they never arrived.

Of course one gets caught up in the view that is part of the charisma. A bottle of sparkling water ($3,50 cdn) was ordered and was doing well until an over zealous server saw the 1/2 glass and filled it with local water!

The mrs went with an 8oz glass of Kim Crawford ($18 cdn) and a soup de jour ($6 cdn). The soup was good but unremarkable.

There was a special on the menu for ($22 cdn). That offered pre selected items from a starter to dessert and in retrospect we should have given that a try as well done is not my first choice.

The mrs finished her meal with a terrine Maggie Oakes ($10 cdn) and it was the highlight of our lunch.

3  Thank DB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, General Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Bonsoir,

Thank you for sharing your last experience with us. We are glad to read that the service you received was good, perhaps saddenned that we could score higher than a 3 stars. We took note of you water incident and made sure our service team were more aware.

We hope to have you back for dinner or brunch so you could taste all of our specialities,

Kind regards,

Kim-Alexandra
Directrice du Maggie Oakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Had two course lunch there as a single and returned two days later with husband because it was so good.
Grilled Calamari was perfectly cooked along with veg that tasted like thy were just picked.
Returned and picked a table on the patio with Eric who was my
waiter previously and the best, attentive, knowledgeable of the wine list and menu. We had many things (what we call grazing)
Wine, cheese,meet board but the best we’re the oysters. Not only were they fresh and perfectly iced but Eric’s assistant who
opened them did the best most professional presentation I have
had for oysters I eaten in many countries around the world.
Thankfully we come to Montreal often and this is my new favorite.Thank You Eric & Oyster Man

2  Thank Barb014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, General Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Bonsoir,

Thank you for your 5 stars review! We are very glad to read that not only our food but our server Erick was up to your standards!
We will make sure to share the love with our team.

Hoping to see you again soon,
Kind regards,

Kim-Alexandra
Directrice du Maggie Oakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We had a fabulous experience last night at Maggie Oakes .Julien M. was very attentive to our needs as we are a little picky. Great selection of wine and perfect menue for anyone. The atmosphere was perfect for a saturday evening of fun and relaxaton. Highly recommend and I dont do this very often.

    • Food
Thank wilf582018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the great selection of wine and the atmosphere.We will tell Julien how much you appreciated his service. We hope we will see you soon.

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Just back from an amazing dinner with friends. Server Justin was knowledgeable and suggested items for appetizer, main meal and desert! Couldn’t have asked for anything more. He was accommodating and made the experience more enjoyable. Nice after dinner drinks on the roof top finished the meal delightfully.

Thank monteal1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you had an amazing dinner with friends.We will tell Justin how much you appreciated his service. We hope we will see you soon.

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maggie Oakes Brasserie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Maggie Oakes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing