We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun vibe, nice cocktails”

Maggie Oakes Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggie Oakes Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 6,223 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Inspired by Montreal’s vibrant culinary scene and American bistros and steakhouses, Maggie Oakes is a vegetable-forward market grill, overlooking historic Place Jacques-Cartier in Old Montreal. The menu offers a perfect blend of seasonal vegetables and quality meat with a commitment to local farmers and purveyors. Designed by Camdi, Maggie Oakes is dressed in marble, walnut and brass, and boasts an impressive dry age meat cooler, large glass wine cellar and a unique green wall for fresh herbs and micro-greens.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very well situated in Old Montreal with a nice cocktail menu. I found the dishes were not overly salty which is nice since many places rely on salt and fat to make a tasty dish. I'd gladly go back with out of town friends since we can then stroll through the area after.

Thank DanielleA1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you Danielle for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your food and our nice cocktail menu. We hope we will see you soon !

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Maggie Oakes is definitely a must try. We had an excellent brunch on the terrace –the food was delicious and so were the drinks. Our waitress Andrea deserves a mention for being so helpful and courteous. Would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you Stephanie for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your brunch on the terrace of the Maggie Oakes restaurant. You can be sure that we will tell Andrea how much you appreciated her service. We hope we will see you soon !

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Hungry and tired after a morning of touring, we stopped in for lunch without checking any TA reviews or recommendations. Were we surprised! The service was impeccable, fast and friendly, even though the restaurant was crowded. The beet medley was a palette of beautiful colors. I loved the subtle changes of flavors and textures. The foil gras was also delicious. Hubby raved about his ploughman sandwich. I would go back again anytime!

Thank andiamoemangiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the ploughman sandwich, the beet medley and our service. We hope we will see you soon !.

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

During a lunch visit food took a very long time to arrive. We were seated outside and eventually it became evident that a severe rainstorm was imminent. We were welcomed inside by our waitress to continue to wait for the food to be served. Every item ordered was very good, especially steaks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimmB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie O, Directeur général at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you had a great on the terrace and inside. We hope we will see you soon for an other excellent steak.

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

I personally don’t have high expectations for restaurants in the heart of tourist areas as in my experience they have often been suboptimal. This was a great surprise! From the moment we arrived, the young lady at the counter, her name was coincidentally Maggie as well, was friendly, professional and accommodating. Our waitress was excellent as well. Attentive, informed about the dishes and very friendly. The burrata was excellent, the beet salad a little on the vinegary side. For main dishes the tenderloin was tender and delicious as was the veal short rib. The soup of the day was also devious. We sat outside on the terrace and great for ambience and people watching. Would definitely go there again!

Thank foodfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-Alexandra L, Manager at Maggie Oakes Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you had a great surprise for your dinner. We will tell Maggie how much you appreciated her service. We hope we will see you soon for an other excellent burrata.

Kind regards

Laurence Campeau
coordonatrice F&B
Hôtel William Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maggie Oakes Brasserie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Maggie Oakes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing