We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brew-pub”
Review of The Gahan House

The Gahan House
Ranked #18 of 289 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the original Gahan House, located in the heart of historic Charlottetown. We’ve been brewing craft beer, serving great food, and showcasing the warmth and hospitality PEI is famous for since 2001. When you think about Gahan, you might think Sir John A’s Honey Wheat Ale and Brown Bag Fish & Chips or a great venue for local music and the perfect place to have a meet up with friends. No matter what Gahan means to you, the common thread is it’s always an experience. There are now Gahan locations across the Maritimes and we’re proud to be the ones that started it all. Experience the beer. Experience the food. Experience the culture. Come experience Gahan.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

From the outside this place does not look like a pub but inside it is full of the dark wood and magic smells of its own beers - brewed in the basement and of the excellent food.
You can have fresh oysters and seafood if you like but the 'classic' pub standbys are also available. there is a bustling bar, a separate restaurant area and some outside space so take your pick. Live music in the evenings attracts a bigger crowd so get your space early

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi sussex_wanderers051,
We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you for sharing your review!
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Delicious meal, friendly service. We both ordered burgers, different salads to accompany. Probably the best burger ever! Enjoyed a fun table in the center of the restaurant.

Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Kathy L,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your burgers! We will pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again.
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We've been here numerous times. The service is good, you're never rushed and the servers are always attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is neat, the building is really cool. The food is good, my kid likes the salmon, I like the veiggie burrito bowl. There are a number of vegetarian items on the menu. Yum.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi D A,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Every summer we visit PEI and every summer, this place is a staple. This past visit we made a night specifically designed as a progressive dinner and Gahan House was our place to start with drinks and appetizers. Unbelievable food, service and location. With the heat and slight breeze, the music from the local talent singing, it was perfect! Can't wait till next summer! This place is a MUST while in Charlottetown

Thank MateoTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi MateoTony,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we can't wait to see you next summer! We'll be sure to pass along your message to the rest of the team.
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Gahan has continued to pump out excellent beer since they first established themselves in Charlottetown years ago.

Every time I stop in Charlottetown I make a point to eat here due to their excellent line of locally brewed beer, despite it being widely available across the maritimes.

The beer was cold and served quick. The meals were also served fairly fast. Good location as well, central Charlottetown, with a great atmosphere.

As far as complaints go, I ordered a steak that for the price ($30) should have tasted/been cooked like a $30 steak. Unfortunately this steak was sub-par, being over-cooked and of poor quality. My group largely enjoyed their food however, and my side dishes were excellent as well.

Also as a side note: Gahan, get planks for your flights of beer. It’s 2018 and embarrassing for a brew-pub to serve flights by individual glasses and servers deserve better.

Thank Megatron0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GahanPub, Guest Services at The Gahan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Megatron0428,
Thank you for your kind words, we're so happy you stop in to see us when you're in Charlottetown.
We're so sorry about your recently disappointing experience! We'd love to hear more from you, if you'd like to contact us at gahan@murphyrestaurants.ca, we hope you'll give us a chance to make it up to you!
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gahan House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Gahan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing