We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
478
18
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
18
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitesqueezed orange juiceantique chinafrench toastfine chinaother gueststheatre ticketsbed and breakfastprince edward islanddietary needsfood allergieseach morningfour nightsshort walk to downtowngreat hostswealth of informationb bs
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I am not sure there is anything more that I can say that has not already been said about the Elmwood....it truly is one of the best B&B's that we have ever visited. It was like staying with friends - the room was beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious and Carol and Jay could not do enough for us. We would certainly recommend the Elmwood Inn as the place to stay in Charlottetown.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry a lot of suitcases up a lot of narrow stairs, as for a room on a lower floor - but every one is lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_Perfect_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the inn before and after a self supported bike trip with my two children. Staying at Elmwood was more like staying with a favorite aunt and uncle in a wonderful luxurious home, than staying at an Inn. The inn is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood, but not too far from restaurants and shopping. The hosts, Carol and Jay, are very personable and helpful. They gave great advice on everything from where to eat to how to walk somewhere in town by the scenic route. They even graciously held some extra luggage for us while we went cycling. The food was fabulous and they even accommodated a gluten-free diet request at the last minute without missing a beat. The rooms are beautiful and gracious, we slept soundly and deeply. Stay here when you visit Charlottetown; I wish we were coming back soon!

Just another note we used George Larter PEI Guide and Drive Service to help get ourselves and bikes to our tour starting point. George was a great resource and sets up lots of personalized tours and he is used to cyclists!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greekeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I spent a delightful two nights at the Elmwood B and B. Carol and Jay could not have been better hosts. The breakfasts were generous and delicious. The room was very comfortable and had lots of extra touches that you don't ordinarily find in B and Bs, like really nice robes, pen and paper, free soda and juice. And, best of all, Carol and Jay were very helpful tour guides -- Carol's route for touring the island was perfect, and her recommendations for restaurants were spot on. Be aware that it is not in the Charlottetown tourist area, but is a 15 - 25 minute walk (depending on whether you take the direct or the scenic route, both of which are nice walks). We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rosa's room on the third floor is pretty and comfortable. It is a little dark, however, and wi-fi does not work up there. There is a sitting room on the second floor where it does work.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Found this Inn on line...through Trip Advisor. We were lucky to find they had a vacancy ...Rosa's Room. A sweet third floor suite with cozy decor. A warm welcome from Jay...Carol was out shopping for breakfast and securing our tickets for Anne of Green Gables Play. Handy to the theatre. Breakfast was sumptuous... Enjoyed a beautifully presented meal with silver, china and warm conversations with Jay, Carol, and other happy guests. Highly recommend. Made our Anniversary trip very special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband, Jay and I just left the Elmwood Heritage Inn after a two night stay. The house was adorable, Carol and Jay (the other one) were great hosts and the breakfast was delish... They even accommodated a gluten allergy without a hitch. The location was easy for coming and going and was a perfect setting to get us in the mood for our Anne of Green Gables tour. The house is off the road a bit so the noise level for sleeping is perfect. Check it out, it will make you happy.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the library room. It is on the main floor and although we enjoy taking stairs, this would be a good spot for someone who is less inclined to use an incline.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews