We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a several day stay”
Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dundee Arms Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We spent 5 days at the Dundee Arms. We has a lovely small room on the 3rd floor (only problem is was quite climb on the stairs). Very pleasant and efficient staff. Great breakfast and very nice dinners in outdoor gazebo. Very central to the city.

Room Tip: No elevator and steep steps. Choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be able to serve you. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a great summer.

Pat Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The staff were great and made sure our group of 6 were looked after. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. Great location close to restaurants and plenty of parking. Would recommend for couples or groups.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank LuckyGemini74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. I will show the staff read your review. Have a great summera and we hope to see you again someday.

Pat Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

LOVED IT! Great rooms, restaurant, patio, location. And what charm! Book it and you wont be disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff. In the heart of PEI with great access to downtown, local pubs and local festivals. Beautifully renovated historical building.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely review of our property. Thank you also for staying with us. We appreciate your review . Have a great day and a great summer.

Pat Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We met up with friends for lunch and we all enjoyed our meals. Chef Patrick does a wonderful job with his menu catering to a wide range of tastes. Our server Michael was very attentive, friendly and a real pleasure to interact with.

Room Tip: Only there for lunch. Did not stay at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank maritimer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Chef Patrick is a great chef and has been with us for 18 years now and he is a great chef. I will let Micheal know about the great comments. Have a great day and a great Summer and Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed here for one night in the annex on the third floor. We had a room with a king size bed. The room is quite dark with only one tiny window facing the Inn's patio. It has its own designated parking which was very convenient. The mattress was terrible! It needs to be replaced with a new one! It was far too soft and worn out with "hollow spots". Apparently this does not get checked by management?
We agree wholeheartedly with the other reviews that the air conditioning is far too noisy for a comfortable night's rest. Like one other reviewer, we also asked to have someone check our A/C for noise. Ours was also very dusty with the dust clearly visible between the slats of the A/C!! We were told that the A/C is functioning normally,but after some persistence on our part the unit was cleaned up. Unfortunately it made no difference in noise level and we decided to turn the unit off and sleep with the window open. With the room window facing the patio , this turned out to be noisy as well.
Unfortunately we noticed too late after our check in that our room had a connecting door. I make it a point never to stay in such a room as it lets noise through much more easily from neighbours. This is exactly what happened to us. We had to call front desk and ask them to instruct the neighbour to turn his tv down. We had a very early flight the next morning and needed to get some decent sleep.
The bathroom fan was also very noisy from a vibrating noise. The fan is clearly in need of maintenance, or needs to be replaced with a quiet one.
The tub had mold around it in the caulking and shower head gave little water pressure.
Counter space in bathroom was minimal.
The room size was good and there was a nice long mirror in the hallway. However, we expected more from a room that appears to be much newer and more luxurious in the photos and description. We complained about the poor maintenance of this room to management and explained precisely why we were not happy. They offered a credit towards our room rate. However, this still did not make up for all the inconvenience and disappointment. We would not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel. It is too expensive for what it offers!

Room Tip: Check room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car01777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Dundee Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for the review of our property.

I am sorry that you had so many issues with the room. I take great pride in the property and I certainly do not like to see guests leave unhappy. The mattresses on all of the beds are high quality which were purchased specifically for comfort. I checked the mattress myself and could find no issues with it.

The shower head has since been replaced and the bathroom fan was noisy and has been fixed. The tiny black spot on the grouting has also been removed and been re-grouted and thank you for letting me know about these issues.

The air conditioners in the annex are large and therefore, they do give off a little more noise than the window installed conditioners, but, at the same time they are great for cooling the rooms. It depends on your tolerance level, for most, it is not an issue.

Please accept my sincerest apologizes for the inconvenience. I appreciate all guests comments whether they are negative or positive and I am committed to making our guests comfortable during their stay.

Tnank you again for the comments.

Have a great and a great summer.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 24 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.3 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
471 reviews
0.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
777 reviews
0.8 km away
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Charlottetown
29 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Address: 200 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: €84 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 46 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing