We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Ordianry Cheesecke”

Uncle Tetsu's Cheese Cake
Ranked #4 of 140 Bakeries in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was my first try of Uncle Tetsu's Cheesecake. Long wait, limit on what you can buy, nice packaging. As everyone else writes, very light without a dense cream cheese taste, I would have like a pronounced vanilla flavour. This cheesecake is worth trying even if just to compare to others for instance - The Cheesecake Factory.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

This isn't standard North American cheesecake at all, it is more like European cheese cake. Not as sweet and heavy as the North American kind, but very delicious.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CanRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

This was my first time trying an Uncle Tetsu cheesecake and it was definitely worth the wait! The cheesecake was creamy and delicious but not like a normal cheesecake. The Madelines were also very good.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Ithil1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Coming from someone who doesn't really like cheesecake, I was really impressed. My boyfriend and I decided to pick up an original cheesecake (came to $10 even) last night when we noticed there wasn't a line like there usually it. We wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Not like any cheesecake I've had, very light and fluffy without being too richy. I can see why people love it so much!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank juliaoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Questionable "cheesecake". Tasted ok but really more about hype. Really cool box and bag to carry away tiny cheescake. Still worth the experience. Havent tried it warm....we walked back to hotel and chilled the cake before eating. Tasted like soft spongy eggs cake with a hint of cream cheese flavour....barely a hint. Mostly egg tasting.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Tetsu's Cheese Cake also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Tetsu's Cheese Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing